Three Years

Three years ago I graduated from the University of Minnesota with a degree in Journalism. And on that day, I swapped my cap and gown for my pajamas as I helped Matt’s family write his brother’s obituary. His 19-year-old brother lost his fight to cancer the night before, making for the most difficult night of our lives. An event that certainly changed all of our lives forever.

Three years isn’t that long. Being three years out of college still makes me a youngin’ but when I look back at how much living I’ve squeezed into those short years, it just blows my mind. It’s easy to get caught up in the mundane while living back home with my parents but this post is to remind myself how much I’m capable of and how much living there is still left to do.

Relationships

Matt and I broke up after college. I kissed a few frogs while he chased me. Matt and I did long distance, got engaged, I moved to WI to be with him, and six months later we broke up again. It’s been a really difficult year for us. However, Matt just moved to MN for a new job and we’re able to keep each other as good friends and support system, which I am incredibly thankful for. Now I’m adjusting to single life and getting to know myself better, which is supposedly the most important relationship to develop, after all.

Places I’ve Lived

Minneapolis, MN / Charlotte, NC / Rock Hill, SC / Charlotte, NC / Chappaqua, NY / NYC / Stevens Point, WI / Lakeville, MN

Travel

Albuquerque, NM / Columbus, Ohio / Miami, FL / Toronto, Canada / Chicago, IL / Orlando, FL / Madison, WI / Dallas, TX / Milwaukee, WI / White Pigeon, MI / Columbia, SC / Myrtle Beach, SC / Denver, CO / Boston, MA / Ridgewood, NJ / maybe more but I can’t remember 😦

Jobs

Marketing Assistant/Associate for a social media company, a publishing company, and a check scanning company / Resume Reviewer for an educational non-profit / Babysitter for countless families / Retail worker at Express / Editorial Assistant for a small newspaper / Owner of Katie Pelton Resumes / Dog Sitter / Hostess at a restaurant (only time I’ve ever been fired!) / Waitress

Accomplishments

Ran my first full mile / Ran the NYC Half Marathon / Raised over $3000 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in honor of Matt’s brother / Became credit card debt free / Sold my first car all by myself / Changed my relationship with money / Learned that the grass is green where you water it (stop comparing!!) / Shed one hurtful friendship but maintained 5 best friendships long distance / Was a bridesmaid x 2 / Increased my habit of reading for fun / Learned to love vegetables and cooking / taught myself how to start my own side businesses / Refreshed my blog and became a more dedicated blogger / Started yoga / Started Zumba / Gained and Lost 20 lbs (temporarily) / Discovered my love of crafting / Figured out my relationship with God

Whew! If three years ago taught me anything, it’s that life is short so make the most of it. Whenever possible, get out there and try something new! Take advantage of every opportunity that comes your way! And when life is difficult at times, still be thankful because life is a privilege denied to many. Whatever it is that you’ve been wanting to do, go do it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three Years

  1. Lindsey says:

    love this post!!!! 🙂 3 years seems like such a long time but don’t blink…3 more will go by like that!

    • katiep624 says:

      Thanks, Lindsey! You’re absolutely right – “don’t blink”. Also a great Kenny Chesney song 😉 I definitely try to remind myself to be present where I’m at or I will miss this crazy ride!

      Sent from my iPhone

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

