Interest is the devil!

When I did the April recap I realized that the smallest loan I’ve been focussing on charged me $1.03/day in interest. I decided to take a look at the big picture to see what this pesky interest monster really looked like.

Sallie Mae 1 ($3263 at 12.5%) charges $32/month or $1.03/day in interest.

Sallie Mae 2 (14,775 at 5.75%) charges 76.86/month or $2.48/day in interest.

Sallie Mae 3 (24,800 at 4.75%) charges $108.51/month or $3.50/day in interest.

Chase (21000 at 6.75%) charges $115.54/month or $3.73/day in interest.

That adds up to $332.91/month or $10.74/day in interest!

If seeing these numbers isn’t motivation to pay off debt ASAP, I don’t know what is.

I could eat Chipotle every day with that money! Or the more frugal side of me sees that as a month’s worth of grocery money or even rent in some places!

Fortunately, I’m working to bring that number down as quickly as I can. My debt repayment, at least for the month of April, allows me to pay $47.18/day. I’m beating debt faster than it can grow and it’s only going to get better!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interest is the devil!

  1. Sam says:

    Just a correction, it’s not paul bunyan in alexandria, it’s big ole the viking.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

