How to Dye Your Hair At Home

Getting your hair colored, or in my case highlighted, can be very expensive. Personally, it’s $100/visit. Since I’m super cheap I usually only get my hair done 3 times a year (yes, my roots are almost always awful) but $300 is still a lot to swallow when I’m trying to pay off debt asap!

My awful, awful roots.

Keep in mind, I am blonde. Boxed dye with darker hair is almost always an easy match but bleaching your hair unprofessionally is a whole different world.

Here are my steps to using (blonde) boxed hair dye after my Monday night experience:

1. Find the right box of dye. Personally, I have only ever successfully used L’Oreal Feria Permanent Haircolour Gel, 3X Highlights. Most recently I tried Very Light Natural Blonde 100.

Product Image

2. Call your regular salon to schedule an appointment anyway, ya know, just in case.

3. Pour yourself a glass of wine and drink. Bring it into the bathroom with you, even. It takes nerves to bleach your own head.

4. Follow the instructions on the box to dye your hair.

5. Blow dry and style your hair to see the full results.

6. Finish that bottle of wine and thank yourself for scheduling that original hair appointment because you, my dear, will have blonde yellow, ugly roots.

Photo on 2013-04-30 at 15.47

Fortunately I’ve had much worse dye jobs in the past. And hey, at least I can say I tried being frugal as the first option! But I think I will stick to my minimal salon splurges from now on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Dye Your Hair At Home

  1. Gina says:

    Hi there – random reader in Cincinnati here. I too dye my hair at home (savings, laziness) and have had MANY disasters. I’ve learned that unless I use ash-based colors, it turns out yellow-ish. Natural, golden, beige, champagne = reddish undertones and bad news.

    If you try again at home, try L’Oreal Preference (Excellence is also good) in any of the ash blondes – lightest ash, light ash, ash, etc. They’re not salon level but they may keep you out of the chair again.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

