Our trip to Dallas – top 10!

One of my best friends, Lenka, moved to Dallas two years ago so Tanya and I hopped on a plane for a long weekend visit two weeks ago. Gotta recap!

10. The weather! Honestly, it wasn’t great for the high expectations I had but it sure beat Minnesota (I’m sure you’ve heard enough already about how it’s still winter here). It was chillier and cloudier than we had hoped but seeing green grass and wearing flips flops felt great. Not needing a jacket and being able to sit outside on patios was refreshing.

dallas3

9. Pool time! It was short-lived since ya know, it was chilly and cloudy most of the time but we did find a small window to relax by the pool. It was the perfect opportunity to take a break from balancing three jobs, paying off debt, living with my parents and general life stress. I think this short hour or two played a huge role in being able to come home ready to work hard again.

8. We met a Dallas Cowboy (football, not a legit southern cowboy) and I told him I didn’t care what he did for a living. Honestly, I am a huge football fan but this guy was a total tool and thought he was God’s gift to Earth. He happened to be hanging with our group on two different occasions and one night he paid a bouncer $100 to let us skip the short line we were in for a bar, then he wanted me to buy him a shot as a “thank you”. Umm no, I didn’t ask to skip the line in the first place! After learning about his ego, he tried to casually mention he was on the Cowboys and I replied with, “good for you. Do you care what I do for a living?” He said not really. Random fun fact. And this guy is a bench rider, no one has heard of him.

7. We played outdoor ping-pong! We went to the Klyde Warren Park, which was so awesome! There are Foosball tables, food carts, a book rental area, and mini-golf all in a downtown, park setting!

dallas

6. We rode the free trolley around town and explored some boutiques in the West End. Such a cute area and it was my first trolley ride! And when it needs to go back the other way it gets on this moving platform that turns the trolley 180°. Crazy!

dallas2

5. Lenka made us some delicious pulled pork in her crock pot. I swear I ate it for nearly every meal!

4. We played ski-ball, life-size Jenga and Connect Four at a bar called Kung Fu. It was awesome to have an activity to do while drinking instead of just standing around trying to mingle. I even played Jenga with a group from out-of-town who managed a resort in some exotic location – I forget where exactly. Unfortunately, I didn’t get a free trip out of the game and the Jenga blocks fell all over me.

photo(27)

3. My ego wasn’t bruised despite A LOT of male rejection! I guess I’m not the type Dallas guys like but I was rejected when I wasn’t even trying! A guy hit on Tanya and asked for her number. She told him she has a boyfriend but I was single and he straight up said, “No thanks, I’m not interested.” I wasn’t interested in him either so at least he was honest but I certainly was not a boy magnet the entire weekend. Guess it’s been a while since I’ve had/needed any mojo but that’s not my focus right now so it didn’t change my confidence at all.

2. We met Lenka’s new boyfriend! It was adorable to see what a great match they make and he was very respectful and fun with Tanya and me as well. Hopefully things continue to go well for them!

1. We spent a day in Fort Worth, which was a blast! We bar hopped and caught a national rodeo championship in the Stockyards. It felt very Texan and none of us had seen anything like it. My favorite bar was Filthy McNasty’s, so much so that I bought a hat. Classy, I’m sure.

photo(26) photo(25) photo(24)

The three of us aren’t together nearly often enough so having a lot of quality time together was so nice. I’m glad Lenka loves Dallas but I wish I could bottle her up and keep her as my sidekick all the time! As much as I’m focusing on getting out of debt, making my friends and family a priority is equally important. As friends get older it’s hard to make time and save money to see each other but I’m thankful we made the trip.

dallas4

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our trip to Dallas – top 10!

  1. Brittany says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend!! And that is awesome that you got out of the MN cold for a few days 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    So jealous you got to escape this snowy MN weather for awhile. Looks like you ladies had a great time.

  3. andrea says:

    fun, i could REALLY go for some sun right. about. NOW!

  4. Sounds like you had a fun weekend! We’ve never been to Dallas but would love to go sometime. Thanks for sharing!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

