Reunited and it feels so good

Each year, it’s easy to look back and compare yourself to where you were last year. Most years, especially recently, I always look back in complete shock and say “I never could have predicted I would be at this point in my life.” 2013 is turning out to be another one of those years.

On March 17, 2012 I ran my first half-marathon, was living in New York City with my best friend, was in a serious long-distance relationship, I was able to travel for work and I had just paid off my Express credit card. Yes, I slept on an air mattress and was fairly bored with my job but life was pretty great.

On March 17, 2013 I was living in my parent’s basement, single, drunk at my little sister’s wedding and I could barely run a mile if I tried. Yes, I finally became 100% credit card debt free a few days later and I’m thankful for the opportunities I have right now. But it’s harder to brag about life these days.

I’m finally adjusting to the radical changes that the past few months have brought to my life and as a result I’m able to start moving forward. I can’t fix everything right now but there is one thing I want to focus on, and that is running and fitness in general.

Remember that one time I used to run? I even have a running page on this blog! It took nearly 3 months before I finally had my first run of 2013. But it finally happened on Monday and I’m happy to finally be getting back into the swing of things!

I am not diving into crazy races like a half marathon again anytime soon. I’m starting with the C25K program again and my goal is to simply see it through so I can run for 3 miles straight for the first time in my life. From there I am just excited to keep running a regular part of my life.

In my 25th year (coming up soon!) I want to run another half marathon and when I’m 26 I want to run a full marathon (ya know, the cheesy 26 in 26 thing). But for now, I just want to run and take advantage of all the cool things my healthy body is capable of while I have it!

I’m continuing to take classes at Lifetime Fitness and I’m venturing out of my comfort zone to try Ballet Booty Bare and my first ever Spin class soon!

This is the most free time I will ever have in my life and it is the youngest my body will ever be again. I might as well take this time to take care of my body and continue to develop strong habits that will leave me with a healthy lifestyle even when things get busier.

Even as I type this, I can’t wait to get off work and run! Man, it’s been a long time since I’ve felt that way but it sure feels good to be back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reunited and it feels so good

  1. Leah says:

    I do Zumba classes, but have been thinking of trying a spin class. I tried a spin class about 5 years ago and it almost killed me. Haha. I go to the Lifetime in SLP.

  2. I actually just wrote a post reminiscing about my life two years ago and how much it sucked, and how much better off we are from two years ago. You seem to have gone the opposite way, BUT just imagine where you will be a year from now!! See how much your life can change in a year? You never know what will happen and where you will be next year. Here’s to possibilities

  3. P.S. I did two half marathons last year, and I don’t think I could run a mile right now without stopping. I do miss running though, as crazy as that sounds. I need a race though to motivate me to run, maybe I’ll look for a 10k to keep my pace up.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

