A day to celebrate!

Well I made it through my sister’s wedding weekend and everyone had a great time! I will have a separate post all about it once we get pictures collected. Yes, there were comments like “We thought you’d be first!” and I might have drunk more than anyone there, but my sister and her husband could not be happier.

But there’s another reason to celebrate today. Ladies and gentlemen, I am officially credit card debt free!! It was incredibly rewarding to select “pay balance” and know that I will never have to pay a credit card bill again!

It has been a lot of hard work, including:

  • Many evenings of babysitting, easily my favorite way to get out of debt
  • Working as my parents chef and house cleaner
  • Using gift cards from Christmas for necessities and then using my allotted money for these necessities to pay off loans
  • Selling clothes on eBay
  • Expanding my resume business to reach more clients
  • Avoiding the mall and Target as often as possible

I also really appreciate my parents letting me live with them and their contributions to my bill when they could. With all of these strategies, I went from $3200 on January 1st to $0 today.

debtA few weeks into living at home and really focusing on my debt, I made this checklist

photo(18)

I have been itching to make progress on this list and last night I finally got to cross off the first debt. It felt so great!

My girlfriend, Faith, even made me my own e-card!

debt freeIf only there weren’t pesky remaining student loans to REALLY make me feel rich!

Throughout my blog, so many of you have commented and encouraged me to put in the hard work and become debt free. Thank you all for reading along and continuing your support!

As the list above shows, this is only a dent in the large amount of loans I have sitting in my name. However, I’m on to the next and already lining myself up to be ahead of schedule on my next loan! This debt snowball is rewarding and making debt a huge priority is really paying off, literally!

debt2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A day to celebrate!

  1. sunnyinsd says:

    Reblogged this on Emerging Adulthood and commented:
    Among many other ways she has contributed to my life, this lady inspired me to blog. I have been following her story [via blog] for 5 years. The original name, “Clueless with Cash” certainly doesn’t apply anymore. I love reading her stories because she goes after her dreams (move to NYC and get a job *check*, half-marathon *check*, get out of credit card debt *check*, and I can’t wait to see what else she has in store! If you haven’t ever checked out her blog I highly advise it! Congrats KP

  2. Sarah says:

    Congratulations on getting rid of the CC debt! Aren’t student loans the worst though?! I think I have about 18K left and I’ve been out of college for 8 years! Eeek!

  3. CONGRATS! Girl, at the rate you’re going, you’ll have all your loans paid off while I’m still working on the last $15,000!

  4. Brittany says:

    So awesome!!! Way to go! School loans are the worst I am scared for when my first bill for mine comes.

  5. andrea says:

    good job! what a great feeling shedding those CreditCard pounds 😉

  6. Bridget says:

    CONGRATS!!! That is amazing and from doing this myself, the BEST FEELING! Being able to cross that off. I can’t wait to see your list @ nothing!!! Good job and keep up the GREAT work.

  7. Pingback: The celebration continues! | Slowly But Surely

  8. If kitchen cabinets you do not wish to paint.
    That’s one part onions, half part celery, half part carrots.
    Another option is to also replace the drawers, which is why they are often composed of plastic similar to the ones they
    have from shopping malls. Something that you’re going to find
    our spot where our little screw hole is.

  9. First off I want to say great blog! I had a quick question that I’d like
    to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out how
    you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out
    there. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Many thanks!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

