11 Cents

I have three student loans through Sallie Mae. I learned recently that there is a “discount” on your loans if you sign up for automatic payments. Despite ALWAYS paying my bills on time, I have struggled to make ends meet so I didn’t sign up for automatic payments for fear that one month money would come out of my account before I had enough in there!

Now that I live at home and have a little cushion in my bank account for the first time in my adult life, I signed up for automatic payments. I recently received notification that, “CONGRATULATIONS! Your interest rate has decreased by .05%!”

Between my 3 loans combined, I am now obligated to pay $0.11 less each month! How generous of them! It really helps! Over the course of a year I can save over $1! Simply incredible!

Really, I’m happy to reduce my debt totals in any way possible. But $0.11 seems like chump change and a small slap in the face from Sallie Mae. I have already paid them thousands of dollars in interest alone due to their absurd interest rates but don’t worry they are kind enough to save me $0.11/month. What a relief!

By missing out on $0.11 each month from me, it will take them 4 months to earn back the money it cost to print and mail the congratulations notification. I hope they can manage to make ends meet with this loss 😉

Look out Sallie Mae, once my credit card is paid off in May I am coming for you. I’m going to pay off my loans so fast you won’t even know what hit you! Here’s to being debt free by 30!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 11 Cents

  1. Ali says:

    I have the same goal. Debt free by 30, just 1.5 years to go! Oh what a fantastic day that will be!

  2. Dawn says:

    Seriously….they can’t do ANY better than 11 cents? Ugh…such a bummer. Good luck with your goal!!

  3. Brittany says:

    Wow that is crazy!! 11 cents?? Lame

  4. Meg says:

    Ha! 11 cents! That’s great. We signed up too but our loans are so much more $$ I’m hoping for a bigger amount off. 🙂

  5. Kara says:

    Ha! That’s kind of funny! Have you looked into consolidating or refinancing through a traditional bank? Salle Mae is a b!tch, if you can get away from her, you should 🙂 Just be careful if you do refinance so you can still write the loans off on your taxes.

    Okay, I know I totally sounded like a Mom there, sorry about that! 🙂

    Hugs!
    Kara

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

