This weekend I…

I’m finally linking up with my fellow Minnesota blogger Syndal from Synfully Delicious for a round of weekend updates!

This weekend I…

Babysat, babysat, babysat! Whew! Thursday night, Friday night, and twice on Saturday for two different families. They were all kids under the age of 4 and we had such a blast with painting and tea parties. And once the kiddos went to bed I had a nice quiet house to relax and read!

babysitting babysitting2

Thanks to all this babysitting, I was able to bring my credit card balance under $1,500! I haven’t seen a number that low in years and it feels great to know I’m making progress towards becoming debt free!

I Skyped with my sister to help plan her wedding. She’s pretty clueless in anything bride-related so it was helpful to navigate some of the planning! I cannot believe that a month from now my 21-year-old baby sister will be a married woman! My how things can change in a few short months!

I enjoyed running errands with my parents in the snowstorm! We hit up breakfast at Perkins, I was able to use my Christmas gift cards for Barnes & Nobel, I splurged at Target on a new candle, new socks, and some new music, and I made it back in time for a relaxing afternoon.

I started reading Gone Girl for book club! I’ve been trying to find a regular book club to join and I am so excited to be on the ground floor of a new group! I have a feeling I will lose some sleep this week from not being able to put this book down. 6 pages in and I’m already intrigued and find the characters relate-able.

I mapped out meals for our family and hunted through grocery coupons. As a way to save money for debt my parents pay for the groceries and I meal plan and cook for them. Win win! Salmon, salad and pork chops are all coming our way this week and my mouth is already watering!

I watched the Grammy’s! I was pretty pleased with it this year. No super flashy lights or craziness, just a lot of talented artists, all of whom deserved to win awards. I’m pretty darn excited for new music from Justin Timberlake, that’s for sure. Justin Timberlake > Bieber, hands down.

And lastly, you know I watched Girls. Well, you probably don’t know that since my postings here have been far between but man, I love that show. Lena Dunham is incredibly talented and hits the nail on the head for life for 20-somethings, especially in New York City. My life is a total 180 from a mere year ago when I lived in New York so this show gives me a little sliver of that life I left behind and it touches my heart.

I can’t tell you how thankful I am for the 3 full days of productivity and relaxation, drama free. Life has beaten me up in the past two months and it felt great to feel a little bit normal finally. I appreciate every chance I get to recover a little bit more.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This weekend I…

  1. Dawn says:

    Sounds like a busy but productive weekend. 🙂

  2. Felicia says:

    Katie,Gone Girl is a wild book…in the end I”m not sure you’ll be able to say you relate but we’ll see! It was a great book group discussion for those of us in Jersey!

  3. Sarah says:

    What a fun weekend! I have been wanting to read Gone Girl and have it reserved at the library- just got to wait for 1800 other people to read it first 🙂

  4. Brittany says:

    Whew! That is a lot of kids in one weekend!! But good for you bringing down the bills 🙂

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

