Thankful Thursday

I swear once I’m finished unpacking, transferring all of my finances to a new bank account, and generally re-establishing myself in my home state, I will be blogging more than once a week. Until then, here’s another round of Thankful Thursday!

  1. I’m thankful for my friends. Coffee dates and regular texts from friends keep me happy throughout the week.
  2. I’m thankful for Parks and Rec because of their concept of “Treat Yo Self.” Saturday I declared “Treat Yo Self” day and it was glorious. The stars aligned and the whole day was great (I’m not counting the evening when the Vikings lost horribly in the first round of playoffs against the Packers). I treated myself to Caribou Coffee and Brugers Bagles, got my nails done, a 1.5 hour massage and got my hair colored and cut. I cut off at least 6 inches of hair! The sun was shining and it seemed like there were no lines for anything! My bank account wasn’t happy so it’s good this is an annual event but man, it felt really great after months of stress.
  3. I’m thankful for the adorable kids I babysit for. Nevermind that I am paying off debt, which is great, these kids are adorable! Tuesday night I spent time with Sophie and Audrey (4 & 2 year olds). We played Simon Says, ate chicken fingers and laughed a lot. Kids are so much fun and carefree – except when the 2-year-old wants a cold bath instead of a hot bath because she wants it to be summer (don’t we all!) and she starts whining because she’s obviously tired. But we managed just fine and the giggles from the night are the best medicine for the soul.
  4. I’m also thankful that the kids went to bed shortly after 7 and I had almost 3 glorious hours to read in total peace and quiet. I have been keeping really busy lately so it was great to just soak up some quiet time. I started a new book and was quickly absorbed and related to the characters.
  5. I’m thankful for my cooking skills. Trust me, they are far from extraordinary but my parents have been really enjoying the food I’ve been cooking for them each night, including vegetables. My dad even comes home for lunch to eat my food. I have been trying to steer them away from fast food since I’ve been here and so far I’m very pleased. It’s hard to break habits so my goal has been to make it worth their while.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. Nikki says:

    Katie! Send me your email address. After your comment on my blog today I wanted to reach out to you, but you were a no-reply commenter. Love this list too by the way! 🙂

  2. Kara says:

    I love that you spent time pampering yourself. We all need that once in awhile. What book are you reading? Not that I need another book on my list when I am always interested when someone says they instantly connect to the book.

    I just found you from your post on the MN Bloggers site and we have a lot in common. I look forward to getting to know you a bit!

    Hugs,
    Kara

  3. Sarah says:

    Hi there! I found you from your post on the MN bloggers board! Your treat yourself day sounds amazing! I look forward to learning more about you and reading your posts!

  4. andrea says:

    i just read your MNBlogger feature, i look forward to reading more about you and i am ALWAYS looking for book nerds to share the latest read info with! i just finished up a GREAT book!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

