Thankful Thursday

I do my best to avoid curling up in a ball and crying in the corner about the end of my engagement and starting over yet again. But today has been particularly hard, for no real reason at all. Instead of dwelling on the sad, I’m going to focus on the good with a round of Thankful Thursday.

  1. I’m thankful my parents opened up their home to me. I have started taking over the basement bedroom and I appreciate having a place to stay. I can’t imagine how overwhelmed I would be right now if I had to set up a new apartment by myself. Additionally, it is helping me save a decent chunk of money, which if you’ve read my debt story, you know it’s a big deal. Unfortunately my mom has been in bed sick and my dad has been on both a hunting and fishing trip since I’ve moved in but I anticipate it will be nice spending time with them too.
  2. I’m thankful for babysitting opportunities. I updated my profile on SitterCity and I spread the word on social media and prospects are flooding my e-mail. I babysat in Charlotte and New York and it was one of the best ways to cheer myself up. Kids are so darn fun, and even when they’re having a tough day, it’s still a distraction from the sads. In fact, I’m meeting a new family tonight!
  3. On a similar note, I’m thankful for this opportunity to pay off more debt. While living at home, my paycheck certainly allows me to bulk up my savings and make larger payments towards debt but if I can reduce my debt even more, I certainly will. Every single dollar I make babysitting or with my resume business goes straight to debt. My goal while at home is to pay off at least 2.5 credit cards/loans. It feels great to have a goal to focus on.
  4. I’m thankful my job allowed me to work remotely. Everyone I work with was already remote so there’s not a single change in the work I do, which is also nice. I work for a good company and I appreciate not job hunting right now. Plus, working in my pajamas if I want to is pretty great.
  5. I’m thankful my parents wanted me to join their gym. I was hesitant to fork over money for a gym membership since I’m trying to focus on debt but after a few short days I know it’s worth it. After working at home all day, it’s great to get out of the house, there are so many fitness classes that I can focus my energy on, and I started getting back into running. It feels great to start taking better care of myself again.
  6. I’m thankful for things that make me laugh, such as Alyssa’s blog post about texting.
  7. I’m thankful for yummy Thai food at a nearby restaurant. A high school friend and I caught up over Thai last night and it was great.

Ta ta for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursday

  1. Lo says:

    Hey! Found you on the MN Blog

    • Lo says:

      Grrrr…stupid phone. I wasn’t done writing yet.

      Found you through the MN Blogger group. Let me know if you want any other side nanny jobs. Its what I do for a living, both nannying and helping people find nannies for the occasional date night or event. I’d love to connect with you. And very nice to meet another MN Blogger.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

