Wedding Wednesday: Recommended Reading

There are a million books about being engaged and planning a wedding and it can be hard to figure out what resources to use. I’m no expert and I’m sure there are other great books to read as well but I have two to recommend to you today, if you’re recently engaged or planning a wedding.

**I receive no incentive for promoting these books.

First up: Emotionally Engaged: A Bride’s Guide to Surviving the “Happiest” Time of Her Life by Allison Moir-Smith, MA

Society makes it seem like being engaged is magical and full of rainbows. It’s super exciting for sure but it’s also a huge commitment and change. This book articulates any of the negativity and stress and chaos that engaged people may feel.

Personally, it made me feel a little more normal because wedding planning so far has not been a walk in the park for us. I recommend reading this right away before the crazies set in so you’re a little more prepared.

Secondly: A Practical Wedding by Meg Keene

This book was a Godsend. I read it in 24 hours, during a particular mid-wedding-planning-crisis. All throughout our engagement so far people have expected me to know exactly what I want. Unlike Monica Geller, I did not have my wedding planned down to the detail since I was 10. Additionally, I never expected to plan a wedding in central Wisconsin so I was a liiiitle overwhelmed.

A Practical Wedding articulated exactly how I felt about so many frustrations and issues I was unable to convey to people who were trying to help me plan. I was able to get down to what was really important to me about our wedding and how to make it a reality.

It helped me feel less crazy because apparently a lot of other brides-to-be were feeling the exact same way.

 

Both of these books can be purchased for under $10 (or even buy used and then gift to newly engaged friends!) or hit up your local library!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wedding Wednesday: Recommended Reading

  1. Genna says:

    APW was amazing! It really helps put things in perspective. I read it in less than a day too and recomended it to all my engaged friends!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

