A lush stole my debit card

Late last week I saw two unrecognized charges to my bank account: $80 at a wine store in Union Square and $50 at Fresh Express ( a salad shop in New York). As much as I would love to be in New York and have that much wine and salad, I certainly didn’t blow $130 like that.

Pro: Chase was able to refund me the money.

Con: They had to cancel my card and won’t have one to me for 7-10 business days. I will be out-of-town this weekend so I need to make sure I have the right amount of cash before I go. Tricky.

Pro: I can’t spend money if I don’t have access to it. The only branch near me is not open until I’m at work and it’s 30 minutes away from my work, leaving rare opportunities to get cash out.

Con: I can’t spend money when I need to. The only branch near me is not open until I’m at work and it’s 30 minutes away from my work, leaving rare opportunities to get cash out.

Lesson reiterated: Keep an eye on your bank account to spot fraudulent charges and avoid money loss. Thank goodness I had the money in my account to avoid insufficient funds fees and thank goodness my bank refunded the money fairly quickly.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to South Carolina for a long weekend my sister, my southern friends, and the Gamecocks!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A lush stole my debit card

  1. Kelly says:

    Yikes!! Any idea HOW they got ahold of your card information?? Glad you got your money back. But sucky that you have to live on cash for the weekend (hate that!) BUT good at the same time too!! 😉 Have a FAB time in South Carolina– can’t wait to hear about how fun the weekend will be for you!!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

