Just Call Me The Tin Man

Well, except for the whole “not having a heart” thing. Because I do. But as I’ve started working out again, I feel more and more like a creaky jointed tin man.

Last Thursday when I started back at it, I stupidly did a cardio kickboxing class, which is way more than my rusty asthma could handle. I need to work my way back up, not dive right into a difficult unknown! It was a total let down because my lungs couldn’t handle it and I had to leave half-way through the class.

Friday I did a body pump class and although it was hard, I managed to make it the whole class and I didn’t wimp out on reps as I have been known to do. But then I met Matt at Chili’s for dinner and all progress was lost. Baby steps??

After a rough start, I dragged my butt out of bed this morning at the ripe hour of 5:30am for a date with the treadmill. I started Day 1 of Couch 2 5K. I figured it would just be a solid 30 minutes of me, my headphones and the treadmill. No expectations but hopefully I would at least finish the intervals.

Finish, I did. But the whole time my muscles were baffled at what I was doing. My hips, knees, hamstrings, calves, shins, and butt ached and constantly told me to go back to bed. Fortunately, from experience, I knew that the pain would ease the more I ran and my body needed a little shock to the system. I did, and will, continue to stretch after each workout to keep my joints and muscles happy and healthy. Soon enough, I will be much more like the Scarecrow than the Tin Man (Physically, not mentally or emotionally – duh).

I knew starting over wouldn’t be pretty, and I was right. But I will keep at it, always doing what I can. From here on out, my plan is this:

M – Treadmill session

T – Body Pump class

W – Treadmill

Th – Body Pump

F – Body Flow (Yoga/Pilates mix)

Sat – Run/Rest*

Sun – Rest/Run*

* One or the other each day, depending on my schedule and how my body feels.

Here’s to sticking with it!

 

P.S. Halloween candy is the devil. Delicious, but definitely the devil.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Call Me The Tin Man

  1. Kelly says:

    GOOOOOOOOOOD LUCK with your continued working out efforts!! As you wrote, you know you just need to give it some time and not push yourself too hard. I LOVE a good yoga flow class. Unfortunately the one I like the best is only offered Friday afternoons and we’re normally out and about or gone for the weekend by then!

    The good part about living in a townhome complex is that we don’t have a ton of neigborhood kids knocking on our door for Halloween– THUS we don’t have to have Halloween candy in the house!! ;-D

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

