My new hobby

“So you’re from Wisconsin?”

“Yup.”

“Are you a Packer fan?”

“Yes, why?”

“Well then this just isn’t going to work out.”

This was how Matt and I met. Not exactly a “meet cute” but it’s true. You see, I’m a serious Vikings fan, which is a major rival of the Packers. After a few beers, Matt eventually warmed my heart but I think we’d both agree that our biggest faults with each other is our allegiance to our respective football teams. That said, football is a big deal for us. Each Sunday we will be camped in front of two HDTVs in our living room that will play all day.

This year, Matt is on 4, I kid you not, four fantasy football teams. So when Sunday rolls around, it likely won’t be a relaxing, lazy day. Each game will bring about a roller coaster of emotions and more statistics than a political convention.

So I decided to join in on the fun. Ya know, couples are supposed to show interest in each others hobbies or something, right? And it might be fun to feel more invested in the hours of football I will undoubtedly watch this year.

I rallied up 7 lady friends to start our own Fantasy Football league: Ladies Who Score.

Most of us love some football but are complete newbies when it comes to this fantasy world, including me, the commissioner. Hey, I’m learning as I go!

We signed up for free through Yahoo Sports and had a live draft last night. It’s looking like my team, Victorious Secret, will be pretty decent 😉

Everyone will pitch in a prize worth $5-$10 and at the end of the season, the team with the best record wins a big prize package. Plain old gambling for money seemed a little too boring for us but it keeps it affordable for everyone.

Here are a few awesome things about Fantasy Football:

  • It connects friends from all over the place. I have friends in the league that live hours or states away and now we can interact on a weekly basis.
  • It’s free! Yes, our team is playing for a small prize but registration, team management etc is all essentially free! I can get behind hobbies that are free!
  • It’s a hobby that (most of) our guys won’t roll their eyes at. Instead of begging them to watch another hour of Keeping up with the Kardashians, we can pick their brains on which wide receiver to play next week. They will likely love that we know what they’re talking about and they’ll appreciate a fun activity to do together.

It’s not too late to join an existing league if you’re looking for an affordable hobby and you’re a relative fan of the NFL. Let the games begin!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

