Wedding Wednesday – Will You Be My Bridesmaid?

The very first part of wedding planning I did was establishing my bridesmaids. I wanted 10 bridesmaids but I narrowed it down to 7  to better match Matt’s 6 groomsmen. Plus, it helped to keep expenses down. I had seen a few cute ideas on how to ask the ladies and since I couldn’t ask them in person due to the distance, I wanted to do something special.

So I headed to Michaels and let it take shape from there.

I found 7 plain wooden jewelry boxes that had a picture frame in the lid. Pictures are kind of my thing and they were affordable so I scooped up all 7 on the shelf. I grabbed some paint brushes and sand paper too so I could make them look nicer. I grabbed a few pieces of scrapbook paper that matched our wedding colors and headed home.

I picked out a picture of me with each of my bridesmaids and got them developed with a coupon at Walgreens. I had some left over acrylic paint from a craft I did for Christmas presents. I was ready to begin.

After I sanded and painted each box, I added the picture and voila!

The final product.

On the inside, I asked the big question.

Since everyone I was asking was both long distance and almost a guaranteed “yes”, I added a few extra details too.

I explained to each Bridesmaid that I wouldn’t be having a Maid of Honor because they are all so close to me and yet they will all be so far away throughout the planning process. Instead, I split up the responsibilities of a Maid of Honor and divided them amongst the maids. That way everyone gets to help, it spreads out the responsibility and cost among 7, and everyone knows what they’re getting into when they agree to help me celebrate our day.

I also included paint chips to coordinate dress and shoe color. They can pick out their own dress while still maintaining a sense of sameness.  I had additional paper explaining that dresses should be knee-length and cleavage should remain classy and heels (if they choose to wear them) should be no higher than 4″.

Lastly, I included a list of all the Bridesmaids, how we knew each other and their e-mail addresses for easy reference.

Can you tell I’m type A sometimes?? But it was the easiest way to distribute all of that information at once! And, keep in mind I was unemployed in a small town while I made these. It was not my intention to be over the top! I was thankful to have a project to keep me entertained, otherwise I would have never had all of that ready!

Fortunately, ALL 7 Bridesmaids said YES and I can’t wait to have them share our big day with us!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding Wednesday – Will You Be My Bridesmaid?

  1. OMG I love everything about this!! ADORBS

  2. Cait says:

    Everything about this is so sweet and thoughtful… but handing out actual responsibilities is my favourite part of it all! I’m going to be a bridesmaid in two weddings next year and I’d love if my responsibilities were just handed over to me, haha. You’re a very organized bride, Katie!

  3. Brooke says:

    Hi! I found you through Jen’s blog. You are so organized! I think it’s really neat how much thought you put into each and every gift! I’m sure the girls really appreciated it!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

