Starting with the basics

As a kid I played basketball and regardless of my poor skills, I had a dream to surpass the WNBA and be the first woman in the NBA. I typically have the “Go big or go home” mindset when I set goals. When I decided to start running, I thought my first race should be a half marathon even though I hadn’t even ran a full mile ever in my life.

Well I didn’t end up in the NBA but I did do a half marathon. My performance was hardly anything to brag about and I only ran a few minutes straight. After recovering from that race, I refused to settle for anything less than a half marathon. Ultimately, I want to run a marathon, so my brain assumed the only way to get there was to make forward progress. If I got more comfortable with running an entire half marathon, I am pretty close to being able to run a full marathon. Well, yes, that would be ideal.

But I got WAY too far ahead of myself. I don’t want to run/walk a marathon. I want to run every step of the way and I want my body to be prepared for it and maybe actually enjoy it. Some people are natural runners but I’m certainly not one of them. That being the case, I can’t just dive into another half marathon and expect results.

So instead of making big huge plans for another half marathon this fall, I’m taking a few steps backward and starting with the basics.

In my head, it sounds minimal but a 5K is the perfect next challenge for me. Despite doing a half marathon, I have never ran 3 miles straight. And it has been 4 months since the race and 4 months since I’ve done any major running. A 5K actually sounds a little difficult to me at the moment and I’m excited about it.

I will not compare myself to those who regularly run half or full marathons. I will not compare myself to those who can run effortlessly and don’t have to walk. I will simply start from the beginning and see how far I can go.

I’ve realized I need to go easier on myself with my goals. With a new job, a new location, and many other big life adjustments, I want running to be fun and doable and realistic. I always dream so big, set up these huge, unreasonable tasks and expectations to meet these big goals and then I wear myself out.

It’s time for a different approach and I can’t wait to see where it takes me. And just because I’m starting small does not mean that a full marathon is out of sight. It will happen one day and this way, I will actually be ready for it!

July 28th – Brandon’s B+ 5K (It’s only $20 and for an AMAZING cause. Go register right now!!)
-I will run/walk this race as training for a fall 5K

Sept 23 – Instead of running the Fox Cities Half Marathon as planned, I’m stepping down to do the 5K. I will run the whole thing and my goal pace is 11 minutes.

We’ll see where running takes me from there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting with the basics

  1. Good for you! You need to do what's best for you and I think building up to marathon with shorter races is a great way to do it 🙂 Good Luck!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

