Catch Up – #15DayChallenge

So if I have to do a catch up post, I suppose that means I haven’t successfully done the challenge but oh well. The weekend was busy and fun and worth a little less blog time.

So where did I leave off?

[Day 6] Recommend a book for us to read. Why do you think it’s important?

If I could, I would probably give you a long list but I’ll keep it at two for today.

State of the Union: A Novel – Douglas Kennedy
**There are other books called State of the Union. When I recommended this to my friend, she got the wrong book and ended up reading an entirely different story. Oops.

My aunt gave me this book for my 23rd birthday. It starts with a woman roughly my age, maybe a little younger, who settles for the first man she meets. Although they are not crazy passionate about each other, he is a doctor and a good guy. They get married and it shows how her life unfolded because of this decision. I found it incredibly important at a time where everyone (including myself) seems to be getting engaged, married, or is running wild waiting for “the one”. All I hear about is right now, but it’s nice to see how that can unfold down the road based on young decisions.

I know people who have settled and I know people who continue to wait. It was so easy to absorb myself into this character. It is a long book but I couldn’t put it down. 

The Missing Piece – Shel Silverstein

I have no idea when I was introduced to this book but whenever I babysit and the kids have this book, I always always always read it to them before bed.

I think a lot of kid classics are incredible but this one always stands out (and The Giving Tree of course). There is something just so sweet about a broken circle realizing he doesn’t need something to complete it. It has fun enjoying life just the way it is. Everyone should know that, not just little kids.

[Day 7] – Describe the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of yourself

The Good:
I’m funny and I’m really curious. It keeps life interesting and fun.

The Bad:
I’m terribly impatient and I change my mind quite often.

The Ugly:
I’m rarely content for long (part of being curious). I’m always looking to improve or learn/do something new instead of appreciating what I have. That probably explains why I’m always moving and changing my plans.

“Better is the enemy of good.”

[Day 9] Describe the best day of your life to date.

The day I got engaged – May 27, 2012.
Not only did I get engaged, it was just one of those simply perfect days. I got to sleep in, eat my favorite New York breakfast of a Bagel Mill bagel and Starbucks, enjoy gorgeous weather in a surprisingly-not-so-crowded city, and see views from my favorite place in the world (the Top of the Rock). I got to call my family to tell them life-changing news and hear their squeals of excitement. I got to celebrate with my best friend over our favorite dinner of Tiny Thai and we enjoyed a post-dinner walk around the reservoir in Central Park. Yes, I also had to pack up my New York apartment but I saved the sadness for another day. I shared a beer with a friend before I left to say goodbye and share the good news and I got to end the day in bed next to my fiance scheming about an actual wedding date.

It will be tough to beat that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Catch Up – #15DayChallenge

  1. Genna says:

    I just finished a book last night and decided to download State of the Union minutes after reading your review. I am only a few chapters in but I am hooked! Great book so far.Genna

  2. Katie says:

    So glad you're liking it so far! Enjoy! 🙂 Let me know what you think of it!

  3. Rachel says:

    Aww! I wrote about getting engaged for my "best day" too! Good choice! 😉 And it sounds like it was a great day without too much craziness or anything over-the-top!

  4. Karenna says:

    !!! Getting engaged is wonderful! One of my fav days too 🙂 Mine was also a very simple day. Love your story.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I think you skipped day 8 🙂

  6. Takeo says:

    That’s an astute answer to a tricky qesutoin

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

