Does this mean I’m officially a runner now?

I know people always say that as long as you run, you’re considered a runner. It’s not about speed or how many races you’ve completed or won. It’s simply about putting on your running shoes and hitting the pavement or tredmill.

I always liked to think this is true, considering I am incredibly slow and take walk breaks.

However, Matt and his family got me a Garmin 210 for my birthday and I suddenly feel official. No, my speed hasn’t changed, nor have I been running more often. But the fact that I can track my pace and distance by glancing at my wrist makes me feel like Kara Goucher, or at least these cool kids. Does this mean I will actually care about how fast I’m running??

It’s beyond ridiculous to think this way but it’s a lot of fun. I know it won’t magically make me faster but I’m excited for this tool to help me. Now, I might even dip my toes into the world of tempo runs…gasp! I didn’t even know what a tempo run WAS a year ago! 

I’m really looking forward to putting this baby to a real test during the Red, White, and Boom Half Marathon relay NEXT WEEK! Oh my goodness…I can’t believe how quickly that snuck up on me! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Does this mean I’m officially a runner now?

  1. Jessie says:

    Fun!! How far do you run on the half marathon relay? Do you run a full half?

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

