Three Things Thursday – Recipe edition

Matt and I have very different styles when it comes to eating meals. He doesn’t eat breakfast, refuses to eat fish and enjoys the occasional Hamburger Helper meal. I recently discovered a love for green vegetables and try to eat fewer carbs when possible (but I never neglect a baked treat and Matt could care less about them). So before we moved in together I was pretty worried about convincing him to eat healthier meals with me and not having a buddy to eat the sweet treats with.

Basically I was afraid we’d gain a bunch of weight and be lazy. Fortunately that is not the case so far and I want to share with you three meals we have eaten since I’ve been here that have been particularly tasty and relatively healthy.

1. Grilled Chicken Salad
I grilled and cut up some boneless chicken breasts, dumped in a bag of the veggie salad mix and a bag of spinach greens, chopped up an avocado and voila! Served with a little lite balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Matt wasn’t a fan of the dressing so it ended up as my lunches for the week, which was fine by me!

2. Christmas in a Bowl
Spinach tortellini served with ground turkey in tomato sauce. Delicious!

3. Creamy Ranch Pork Chops
I whipped out the never-before-used Crock Pot Matt and I bought at Christmas time to make these simple and yummy pork chops. All you need are pork chops, a packet of ranch dressing, 1 can of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of water. Stir and cook on low for 4-6 hours. Served with green beans, mashed taters, and strawberries.

Now that I have a big ol’ kitchen and a few helpful appliances, I will definitely be cooking more and sharing my adventures at domesticity!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Things Thursday – Recipe edition

  1. Amanda says:

    I still don't have a crock pot. I want to get one sometime.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

