The Top of the Rock – A Proposal Story

I’ve traveled quite a bit in my lifetime so far and my all-time favorite place is the top of the Rockefeller Center building. Not only does that building hold incredible history with NBC, but the views from the top are simply breathtaking, especially for a lover of New York City. Now, the movies always talk about the top of the Empire State Building being one of the best views but they’re wrong. You see, from the top of the Rock the Empire State Building is included AND you get a stunning view of Central Park.

Taken with my basic camera. You can’t get much better than that.

I love how quiet it is up there, in contrast to the chaotic city below. Since my first visit, I take advantage of every opportunity to go. So when Matt visited New York last weekend to move me to Wisconsin, we agreed we would make a trip up there before we left.

Before Matt arrives, he asks if he can take me on a date Saturday night. He picks a nice restaurant for dinner, per usual, and says we would just walk around afterward. I look forward to a break from the busy moving weekend for a nice date so I dress up, despite the rain and humidity.

We eat a delicious meal at Hillstone. If you’re in New York, I absolutely recommend it. I get the filet Mignon and Matt gets the burger and we agree to switch half way through. For the first time in our lives, the burger is better than the steak! Now that is a seriously good burger! We share a bottle of wine and have a really great time.

Matt suggests we head over to the Top of the Rock before a night out with my roommate and her boyfriend. The sun is about to set and it really couldn’t be any better. As we get in line, the cashier tells us tickets are booked until 9:30pm if we want to wait. Umm…not really considering we have plans later and it wasn’t convenient to get to. He promises we can go in the morning to ensure we get tickets before I leave.

Now as a side note, all day I thought Matt might propose that night. I thought it would be the perfect way to kick off our next chapter of moving in together. When he mentioned the Top of the Rock, I had my hopes pretty high. When they said we couldn’t go, I was really disappointed. To make matters worse, Matt knew I was thinking he might and he wanted to throw me off. He kept dropping lines like, “I would really like to live together for a while before we dive into an engagement.” I was crushed (entirely my own doing) and was crabby.

Matt suggests we walk through Central Park but I am in heels and we have been walking all day at the High Line and I am not having it. I just want to go home and hide my disappointment…even though Matt has always been able to see right through me.

We go back to my apartment and my roommate has flowers and champagne to “celebrate my last night out in New York”. We have a lot of fun out with them that night but with all of my emotions of leaving, moving, my disappointment, and a few drinks, I eventually become a hot mess and tell Matt all about how I thought he was going to propose. He says to just trust him and he gallantly cleans me up and gets me some delicious diner food before bed.

As Sunday morning rolls around all too quickly, I am wildly embarrassed at how I had acted the night before. We casually head to the Top of the Rock, despite being mildly hung over and tired. From my perspective, if Matt was going to propose Saturday night and it fell through, he must have had a plan B. Surely, he wouldn’t propose after last night’s fiasco. Neither of us were dressed up, the pressure was entirely off, and we enjoy a casual trip to 30 Rock.

We soak up perfect weather, take pictures of the incredible view, and share a lot of sweet talk about leaving New York and starting our next chapter.

After a while, we check our phones and Matt announces his isn’t working. I saw that his screen was continually black and won’t turn on. As he pops the back off to check the battery, I see something shiny and think “no wonder it doesn’t work! Tinfoil or something got stuck in there!” Before I can relay this obvious point to him, he’s down on one knee with a ring asking me to marry him! (He hid the ring in his phone to avoid me seeing it as we went through security! Clever man!)

Before I can even process what was happening I blurt out “yes!”

As it sinks in, of course I start crying. Thank goodness for my sunglasses! A group of tourists tap me on the shoulder and ask if we just got engaged. When we say yes, they say they took a bunch of pictures and can they e-mail to us? Sure! They shake our hands in congratulations and it was really cute.

We spend more time taking pictures before leaving my favorite spot.

The ring is better than I ever could have dreamed!

We eventually make our way down, back to reality. We called our immediate family to share the big news! It turns out they thought it would happen Saturday night, since that was Matt’s original plan (I’m such a sleuth!) and they are all impatiently waiting by their phones.

Before starting the chaos of calling all our friends and extended family, we took Sunday to just enjoy and celebrate (I REALLY recommend this route, despite how fun it is to tell everyone!). We went to dinner with my roommate and her boyfriend to celebrate both the engagement and my last night in New York and we took a nice stroll around the reservoir.

It was sad to leave New York but we are very excited to be starting our lives together!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Top of the Rock – A Proposal Story

  1. Congratulations! That is a perfect place to propose 🙂 Wishing the two of you all the best!!

  2. Brooke says:

    Hi Katie, I'm a total blog stalker! I started running this year and stumbled on your blog. I just wanted to say congrats! Wishing you and Kyle a lifetime of happiness!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I am so happy for you guys and can't wait to keep reading the rest of your long story together : )

  4. Amy says:

    Oh my gosh! So exciting Katie. You're ring is beautiful. Congrats to you both

  5. kate says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. Congrats! I'm so excited for you all!

  7. Cam says:

    Aww I'm so glad you blogged your engagement story, I loved reading it and seeing the pics! 😀

  8. How am I so late to the party? OHMAGAWD!! Congrats!! xoxoxo

  9. K & J says:

    CONGRATS!!!!!! Such a beautiful post. Kara XOXOPS: LOVE the shoes you have on in pic #2. HOT!!!

  10. Pingback: Wedding Wednesday – The first details | Slowly But Surely

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

