Long Hair Don’t Care…except it does

In kindergarten I had hair to my shoulders that I refused to brush. My mom threatened that she would cut it all off if I didn’t style my hair.

It’s hard to tell in this picture but fortunately it was the only one I could find. I’m on the right with a mushroom cut. I was a real beauty.

Nowadays my hair is as long, if not longer than, it’s ever been.

Long, luscious locks, just like this tool guy.

It’s kind of fun experimenting with different hairstyles now that my hair is long enough, for example:

The top knot
Long curls

I’m finding it hard to manage my hair when I workout though. Not only is my hair now fairly long, I have a lot of hair. I’m not sure how to describe what that means but my hair dressers always comment on how much hair I have, regardless of the length. Maybe that means it’s thick? But I’m really not sure.

Anyway, it’s hard to keep it in a tight ponytail for workouts. No matter what hair band (hair tie, whatever. No, I don’t mean the band KISS) I try, it’s just so hard to keep it tight. A few minutes into my workout my ponytail has fallen and it flops around – both annoying and uncomfortable!

What do ladies do with their long hair?? It’s not even unreasonably long. Is my hair simply unruly?

Is it a matter of finding the right hair bands or the right style? Spill the beans ladies, what do you do?

I have a hair appointment the weekend I move back to the midwest. I thought it would be fun to keep it long but running comfortably is more important.

Thoughts? Advice? Peanut gallery? Help, please!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Long Hair Don’t Care…except it does

  1. Kelly Marie says:

    When I was 3 my hair was so long, one of my family members had to hold it so it wouldn't fall in the toilet! Now, it's never longer than just past my shoulders. I miss it haha

  2. I have the exact same problem; my hair is super thick and its pretty long. I can't keep it in a ponytail or even a bun at the gym cause no elastic can hold it. I've tried all the grippy ones but they don't work for me so I always braid it. Hopefully that works for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kelly says:

    Aww, that is kind of annoying ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Maybe ask your hairstylist? My hair has gotten SO long lately (just realized yesterday that it has been 2 years since I cut off 10 inches for Locks of Love) I normally put it in a ponytail… but if that is annoying, I just put it in a "ho bun" as my sister calls it ๐Ÿ˜‰ Kind of like your "top knot" photo. Maybe a braid of sorts would help??

  4. I have super long and thick hair, too, and my hair is always slipping out of hair bands. I've had some luck with the Goody no-slip grip bands (although it's hit and miss. Sometimes they're great, and sometimes they're totally wimpy) Also, I use two at a time. Not sure why that makes a difference, but it feels tighter.

  5. libby says:

    I too have super thick hair and I have found it stays best when braided. I pull my hair into a tight and higher than usual pony tail. I braid the hair and secure it again tightly. I rarely have a problem doing this. Bonus: My sister says I look like exercise barbie! Good luck!

  6. Megan says:

    maybe try the hair ties that have the grippy material on the 1 side?

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

