Ch-ch-ch-changes!

I have been waiting for this day for a while now…the day I can finally write about some HUGE changes I have had in the works lately.

Please just tilt your head, I can’t fix this image 😦

My long distance relationship is about to come to an end!

No, Matt and I are not breaking up – we are moving in together!

After two long and tough years of distance we will finally be reunited. We’re both very excited!!

So what’s the plan?

I have spent the past two weeks getting my ducks in a row and this morning I gave work my 2-weeks notice. Matt comes out to New York on Thursday, May 24 for Memorial Day weekend and this time, he’s not leaving without me! On Memorial Day we’ll load up a Ford Explorer rental car and take a 2-day road trip back to Wisconsin to start our lives together!

Matt has an excellent job, a great 2-bedroom apartment, and both of our families are a short drive away from our place. It makes sense for me to make the move instead of him. I’ve been working on finding a job in Wisconsin and I might even have one lined up immediately once I get back! More on that later.

I’ve already started decorating his place 🙂

Am I nervous? Abso-fucking-lutely. I never thought I would change my entire life and move across the country, let alone to the small town Midwest for a boy. Never. In fact, I was extremely against this idea for most of my life. But Matt is not just some boy and I’m excited for us to finally have a more normal relationship again.  

No, there is no ring on my finger and I don’t expect there to be one for a while so hush those thoughts, please! We are thrilled to take the big step of moving in together and that’s plenty for now. I’ll be the first to let you know if/when a ring enters the picture.

I am certainly nervous about the transition from New York City to small-town, USA. I’m sure the adjustment will give me plenty to blog about 😉 I am very sad to leave New York and the invaluable friendships I have here. However, I’m also excited to meet new people and make new friends. I’m excited for a new start to my career and to learn a new city town. It will be wonderful to be closer to family and friends again. In fact, my schedule is nearly booked already from all the fun things going on this summer in the fly-over states.

And the icing on the cake is that some major financial concerns will be relieved when I move to a more affordable place. Once I get a job, Matt and I will be comfortable financially and we can actually make some huge strides in tackling debt, increasing savings and not being so stressed about money. I will only have to work one job, which has never happened to me in my adult life. I can enjoy going out with friends more because a) I’ll have more time and money and b) the cost of living will be so much more affordable there. And since we won’t need to buy monthly plane tickets to visit each other, I might be able to finally see some other long distance friends!

Additionally, I have been alluding to school for a while now. I had plans to go back to school to get a degree in education starting this fall. Fortunately, I did some more soul-searching and research and I know now that it’s not the right decision for me. Teaching is a great career that I want to pursue eventually but going back to school to get into more debt and not working full-time is not smart for me right now.

Whew – it felt great to get that off my chest! I dislike having to keep quiet about major life events. And now that it’s all out in the open, regular blogging can resume! There is so much I have wanted to write about so let the adventures and posts begin (starting Monday of course!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ch-ch-ch-changes!

  1. Kelly says:

    Exciting!!! Congrats 😀

  2. CurtDog Sr. says:

    Congrats! Nothing wrong with small town WI! One if the best places I lived and grew up! Good luck and may I be the first of your friends to say something you will be repeating for years to come, "Go Pack GO!" It's about time you cheered on a winning team! (-:

  3. kate says:

    SO SO happy for you!!! literally smiling ear to ear. this next journey is going to be amazing for you, i just know it!

  4. HowdyFromNYC says:

    OMG this is sooner than expected!! I'm sad (selfishly), but so so so happy for you. Such a happy time for you and Matt!!

  5. Jessie says:

    Yay!!!!! Sounds like you're in a very good place right now…..now email me back!!! =)

  6. wow you have so many changes happening! Congratulations!

  7. Amanda says:

    Congrats on the upcoming move 🙂

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

