May 1st

I had big, ambitious plans for May 1st. Not only was I going to start running again after a month of hip healing but I was going to try to cut meat out of my diet. As much as I LOVE LOVE LOVE a delicious burger, some grilled chicken or a juicy steak that meat is darn near expensive!

A few personal finance bloggers have suggested that meat adds a significant increase to any grocery bill. Then I watched Forks Over Knives, a documentary about the health issues Americans have as a result of our diet. One of the biggest health concerns is the amount of animal-based foods we eat. Yes, protein is important but there are a number of ways to get the nutrients you need without all the processed meats.

But then life got busy and May 1st came and went. Revamping my diet to avoid meat is way too much to tackle at once and the idea of completely missing out on meat seemed a bit devastating. As a result, I’ve changed my tune a little bit. I will avoid buying meat at the grocery store but that does not mean I’m giving up meat entirely. I can order a burger when I dine out, etc. I will slowly try to incorporate meatless meals into my menu planning and I will have a Meatless Monday post to show you what meatless meals I tried the week before.

As far as running goes, that didn’t happen on May 1st either. After babysitting later than expected and feeling lazy when I got home, it simply went by the way side. However, it did happen on May 3rd (Friday) and it was glorious. GLORIOUS, I tell you! I thought I would be really rusty, and to be honest, I was right. But I was surprised that I can still run a few minutes straight without stopping. I ran 1 song, walked 1 song as I made my way around the reservoir. I didn’t factor in speed but it felt so great to be among the runners once again.

I didn’t feel any hip or knee pain!

Going forward, I feel comfortable starting the C25K program at week 5. I will be building up a base so I can actually run the entire distance of the next race I do. I should be able to run 3 miles straight in about 4 weeks and then I will start a relaxed half-marathon training plan for September. I have a few smaller races scheduled over the summer, which will be great to keep me on track.

Not only will I be running but I will be strength training as well. I want to prevent injury and increase my running speed and stronger muscles will help.

So cheers to starting my new running program tonight! Now that I know what I’m getting myself into, let’s see what I’m really capable of!

Also, thank you for the suggestions about things to see and do in Toronto! I dusted off my passport last night and I can’t wait to explore a new city! I will be sure to post about that trip πŸ™‚ 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 1st

  1. HowdyFromNYC says:

    Congrats on the no pain!! I'm so very jealous. I think I should take my cues from you and just sit it out for a while. 😦

  2. Laura says:

    Very exciting post! Glad your body is feeling better, and that you won't have such a crunched training schedule. I don't like to cook meat (like I just don't enjoy the task of preparing it) so I end up with a lot of meatless meals as well. Here are 2 of my faves:Zucchini Burgers:2 Carrots1 Zucchini22 ritz crackers (can use crackers for snack to bring to work & add in some cheese slices if you have a block of cheese at home) 1 egg1 TBSP olive oilSalt, pepper, and other spices you like1 green onion (optional)-Use a cheese grater to shred the carrots and zucchini-Crush up the crackers-Chop green onions-Mix together everything in a bowl -Make 4 patties-Cook in hot pan abut 3.5 minutes on each side or until done. Veggie Lasagna -1 zucchini-Sweet peppers-canned mushrooms-hot pepper-1 onion(basically any veggies that are cheap and you like) -Lasagna noodles-cottage cheese (cheaper than ricotta and can be repurposed for breakfasts!) -Pasta sauce-Cheddar cheese (optional)-Slice up all the veggies and saute in pan-Mix in Pasta sauce -Veggie layer, pasta layer, veggie layer, cottage cheese layer, pasta layer, veggie layer, cheddar cheese on top. Both VERY easy, pretty inexpensive, and fairly healthy. Good luck πŸ™‚

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

