Post-race exercise

There hasn’t been much talk about exercise the past few weeks because there hasn’t been much in these parts.

I’ve tried a few short, easy runs since the race and they haven’t been pretty. At first it was knee pain and I always slowed to a walk. Monday night I did a reservoir run with no knee pain and I was in heaven. I had to keep reminding myself to slow down so my lungs could keep up. I’ve really missed running. But yesterday morning, my right hip flexor (the iliac crest to be exact…running is always teaching me new things!) was flaring up just like it did during the race.

Without running I’ve tried low-impact exercises, such as the elliptical but it’s not the same. Between low-impact workouts, stretching, strengthening and resting, I’m hoping to be in better shape by the end of the month. By the end of May I want to be able to run 3 miles straight again.

The low-impact workouts have brought me to the gym for the first time in a long time. That is the only place I weigh myself and I was shocked to see last week’s number. While living in New York, my highest weight was 175. When I did my first Fit Friday post I was 165. Last week I was 155. Incredible!

Now I’ve heard of people that start running to lose weight and I’ve heard of people that actually gain weight while training for a race. While I trained for the half marathon, I simply didn’t increase the amount of food I ate. I had always eaten plenty and I kept it that way. I tried to eat healthier so my runs were stronger but I certainly indulged on pizza, desserts, etc. but my main goal was not to lose weight.

When I say I didn’t increase the amount of food I ate, it was not unhealthy. The highest mileage I ran was 6 miles and I slacked off big time towards the end. So really I had no reason to eat much more anyway. I ate when I was hungry and didn’t when I wasn’t. I guess that’s all my body really needed to get back down to a comfortable weight (I’m 5’9).

There’s still plenty of meat on my bones and I would love to tone up more but at least it’s a start. I’m sure some weight will creep back on while I rest my knees and hips but I’m not too worried. You can bet that I’ll keep running as a regular part of my life with these benefits!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

