This week’s groceries for under $30

A lot of my spending money goes towards food. I love food, meals are social events, and a cupcake can cure a stressful day.

But being on a spending diet really limits what/how much food I eat. Cooking at home and bringing lunches to work are great ways to cut costs, but even buying groceries can get expensive.

I grocery shopped on Friday after work. For less than $30, I bought enough food to last me through the week comfortably, while still allowing myself 2 meals out. Here’s my list:

  1. Low Carb Multi Grain Tortilla shells
  2. Cooked shrimp
  3. Frozen green beans
  4. Frozen peas
  5. Frozen broccoli (frozen veggies were on sale)
  6. 1/2 lb of ham
  7. A 12 ct carton of eggs
  8. Cottage Cheese
  9. Syrup
  10. 3 apples
  11. 1 box of Kraft Mac & Cheese
  12. Tomato sauce
  13. 1 avocado
  14. 2 packets of Ramen (shrimp flavor)

Granted some of these items will be used with what I already have in my fridge. Syrup? That will go with a cheap box of pancake mix I already have. I still have plenty of spaghetti and ground turkey to go with the tomato sauce. I already have peanut butter to eat with my apples for breakfast.

I spent $28.84. I didn’t use coupons but I did pay attention to sales at the store.

Some inexpensive but yummy (and not completely unhealthy…mostly) meals I’ll have this week are:

Avocado and ham wraps
Shrimp/Ramen/broccoli
Eggs and pancakes
Spaghetti and meat sauce

All of these meals will make more than one serving and will provide multiple meals and snacks for me. I’ve been known to spend $20 to get all my groceries for the week but as long as I’m under $30, I’m happy.

What are the cheapest meals you’ve made that still taste great? What are some inexpensive grocery store items you love?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This week’s groceries for under $30

  1. Michelle P says:

    Good job! I've been trying to cut down our food budget as well.

  2. Jessie says:

    My staples mostly come from the produce section. It seems like every time I go to the store I buy avocados, apples, bananas, brussel sprouts, cilantro, onions, garlic, lettuce, and celery. Those all make for great bases for meals (onions/garlic) and healthy snacks. I also always get ground turkey (I shop for who has it on sale), chicken breasts, vegetable chips, tortillas, milk, eggs, soup, and taco seasoning. Tacos are a great dinner in our house because you can make them with pretty much any kind of meat that's on sale and add a bunch of veggies and a taco shell. =)

  3. Amanda says:

    Good job! I have been getting feta (about $1.50 a container and it lasts several meals), a box of whole wheat pasta ($.99 and makes at least four servings), and diced tomatoes (we recently got a box of 12 cans for $6, and a .50 can makes 2-4 meals depending how heavy I get with the tomatoes). While it's not exactly "healthy" we have also been making stuff with velveeta like grilled cheese, nachos, and adding it to vegetables, because there was an automatic coupon at checkout for it at one point that made a box of it $.75 We got about $60 worth for $9.)

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

