Goodbye Express

I love Express. For reals. I’ve shopped there religiously since my senior year in high school and I even worked there for over a year in college. Most of my wardrobe is Express, between their yoga pants, work clothes, and cute tops and dresses. Don’t even start me on their denim that fits me perfectly with those long sizes and buy one get one half off deals!

I doubt I saved any of my pay checks from working there because I spent it all on clothes. I even signed up for an Express card because “it was saving me money”. Right.

Since moving to New York, I’ve tried to limit the amount I visit Express because I don’t have the kind of income to support all the clothes I want to buy. I’ve splurged a time or two but I find the less I go in to the store, the less tempting it is to waste my money away. Crazy concept, huh?

Sometimes though, an Express coupon or birthday gift card would arrive in the mail. Although the coupon was for $10 off or $15 off a $30 purchase, I would end up racking up a large bill and throwing it all on my Express card. Oops.

I even cut up my Express card to avoid this nonsense. Did you know that if you forget your card at home cut it up, an Express employee can look up your account and apply your purchase to your card anyway? Because they can. And it’s really easy. So incredibly guilty of that.

Well, the tides have changed. I am officially sick of those pesky $25minimum/month payments I make to this stupid card. I need that for savings! I still do love Express, don’t get me wrong. But I no longer have an interest in shopping there until I can afford it. I cancelled my subscriptions to their e-mails and ads. I kept my credit cards cut up. When coupons came in the mail this past weekend, I gave them to my roommate and told her not to let me shop with her. 


And this Friday, April 5, I will be getting my tax return. On that very same day, my Express card balance will be $0 and it will stay that way until the account closes. I simply can’t wait.

This has been a long time coming and I am a little frustrated that it took so long to finally have this debt out of my life. But I can’t dwell on the past. I can only be thankful I finally got to this point and be committed to keeping it this way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Goodbye Express

  1. Michelle P says:

    Good job on bringing your balance to 0, April 5th is so close!

  2. Amanda says:

    Good job! If the time comes that you need clothes (and not just want) check out eBay. When I needed some business casual clothes for work, I got a few Express shirts in a lot sale for less than I would have had to pay for one if I'd gone in to the store. I wouldn't recommend going on unless you need something or can be disciplined though, because Ebay makes its own temptation issues lol.

  3. Katie says:

    It's so close I can smell it! Thanks!

  4. Katie says:

    That's a great idea! I always worry about buying used online just in case it doesn't fit with all the washings etc. Probably just paranoid. Definitely worth checking out though! Thanks!With all my exercise lately though I shouldn't need new clothes for a while since I now fit into everything I own again!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

