I was really nervous

Yesterday I started another No Spending Challenge that needs to continue until payday on Friday. Part of my strategy is to use the foods I have at home. Unfortunately, I typically find myself sacrificing either healthy foods or my budget when it comes to food.

When I need a cheap meal I try to make spaghetti, but I know all those carbs don’t help my waistline.

One day, pasta was BOGO at the grocery store and I decided to go out on the limb and try Ronzoni Garden Delight Spaghetti, because each serving has vegetables in it.

I compared the nutrition facts with regular spaghetti and while the serving size, calories, carbs, and proteins are all the same, Garden Delight is better in the vitamin department:
15% Vitamin A
4% Vitamin C
2% Calcium
10% Iron
35% Thiamin
15% Riboflavin

I’m not going to lie, I was pretty hesitant about what it would taste like. It sat in my cupboard for a long while before I finally made it last night for this week’s lunches, now that I’m back on this spending diet.

I prepared it with a little bit of olive oil and a little bit of butter and tossed in some frozen broccoli. I meant to top it with Parmesan cheese but I forgot it at home. Fortunately it tasted delicious, just like regular spaghetti!

I’m happy to be using the food in my cabinets and it’s nice to know that I have an affordable, healthier option to add to my list of Spending Diet recipes. I recommend giving it a try!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I was really nervous

  1. I'll have to look for that brand – it would be an easy way to sneak more veggies into my diet 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    The last few times I've made spaghetti I've gotten whole grain and put diced tomatoes and feta in it. When I eat it with salmon I switch the tomatoes for peas.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

