An awesome tip for brides-to-be

One of my best friends, Amanda, is getting married this fall!

I am thrilled to be in their wedding and it’s an added bonus that she is a super low-maintenance bride! Being a bridesmaid can be really expensive but it doesn’t have to be!

One of the awesome things Amanda has done for her bridesmaids is to let them all pick out their own dresses. That way we can chose dresses that are flattering for our bodies, fit in a price range we’re all comfortable with, and can pick them out on our own time. We don’t have to all agree on a dress and no mortifying food poisoning scenes for us! 

My favorite part about her strategy was that she gave us each a paint chip so we all still match and coordinate with her wedding colors. It’s free and easy to keep in your purse in case you spontaneously see the perfect dress while out shopping.

I’ve had my eye on a dress from David’s Bridal for a while. I knew most of the bridesmaids were buying their dresses from there and they had a lot of cute styles. Unfortunately they are $150, which is a big purchase I would have to save for.

While in Denver this past weekend, my sister and I were doing a bit of shopping and stopped in Ross (similar to TJ Maxx). As I skimmed through the dress section and came across a wonderful bridesmaid dress in the exact color of Amanda’s paint chip! The very best part was that it was $9.99!!!

I need a padded strapless bra and it’s a little tight around the hips but it’s something I can work on by September (damn pear shape!). For $10 though, it’s pretty perfect!

Unfortunately I ended up shopping with the money I saved, instead of actually saving it; but that’s another post for another day. I didn’t think I could be happier for my friend but finding such a great deal certainly made it possible! 

This entry was posted in bridesmaids. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An awesome tip for brides-to-be

  1. Bryony says:

    That dress is gorgeous! A little tight perhaps but you look great as it is and if you are worried, spanx can do wonders! That's such a great idea for bridesmaids dresses as there always seems to be some drama around them otherwise!

  2. Jessie says:

    I can't believe the brilliant idea of sending a paint chip! Wow!! I love it =) Way to go Amanda and way to go katie for finding such a great deal!!

  3. Amanda says:

    That's a cute dress. I especially like the back…and can't beat that price tag. I used to shop at Ross a lot for dress pants for work. The same that other stores would charge $40 for would be $10. David's Bridal can be a little pricey. I was in a friend's wedding years ago where we got dresses there because the color would all match but we could all get different styles. I got one with a corset top. I've never reworn the ball skirt but I've gotten to reuse the top several times, which I like. For my own wedding I only spent $130 on my dress which I found online and my only bridesmaid already had a red dress so it worked out great.

  4. Pingback: Operation Bridesmaid Dress | Slowly But Surely

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

