Slowly But Surely

When I made this blog I wanted to document my progress of a few goals of mine. Simple as that. I expected to be slow, hence the blog name. Somewhere along the way I got it in my brain that I needed to post every day at 8:30am and I always had to have progress to show for each post. I wanted to accomplish everything as quickly as possible and as perfectly as possible. I completely lost my mind with the pressure I put on myself and every goal of mine became ridden with anxiety because I felt like a failure. The negativity was unhealthy. I had a few reality checks and I worked my way out of it. Blah. Dunzo with that nonsense. As much as I like to be an over-achiever, I found my limits and learned my lessons.

I’m not going to claim from this day forward I’ll be much better about posting, about saving money or about running. Yes, today is a fresh start but I’m not going to go nuts trying to accomplish everything. I will post when I want to, not because I have to. It will be an outlet but it won’t be my diary. I like to include pictures in posts but I won’t always be as entertaining. I’m just barely afloat financially but there are big and small opportunities to improve that soon. Training for the 1/2 marathon has taken a back seat and it is now a fun walk/run. That is perfectly ok with me and I’m looking forward to seeing progress as the days YEARS go on. My progress is different than I expected but that doesn’t mean I failed. It means I have still made improvements and that’s all that matters. 

I’m excited for a positive March. Between tax returns, receiving 3 paychecks instead of 2, and spending an entire weekend babysitting, I’ll be in a better situation financially. It’s the month I will do my first half marathon. It’s the month I get to spend some quality time with my sister in Denver. It’s the month I get to meet my favorite financial blogger. I will make progress but I will enjoy my favorite parts of life more. Simple as that. Goals are great but a slower pace sounds pretty darn good to me!

So that’s where I’m at. I hope you tune in to my story (say “hey” if you do!) but if not, that’s ok too. The support is wonderful but this blog is not meant to be a form of validation from others and I can’t forget that.

Oh, and happy leap day! Go do something out of the ordinary!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slowly But Surely

  1. Unknown says:

    Hi Katie!I really enjoy reading your blog, all the way up in BC, Canada. I think your very real and honest about your everyday struggles. I envy your life in NYC, it sounds so exciting! How long do you plan to stay in NYC? Forever? Do you want boyfriend to join you? Potential idea for a future post?

  2. Katie says:

    Hi! I'm happy to hear you're enjoying my blog! NYC can be very exciting but I definitely won't be here forever. Plans are in the works to be with the boyfriend but I won't be able to share all the details on the blog until it's closer to that time. Thanks for reading!

  3. Laura says:

    I love hearing about your trials and tribulations. I always think no matter what you are very brave for going after your dreams & letting us all know truthfully how things are going. So many people will sit back someday and think, "what if" but you really have and do chase your dreams in life & that will be something I am sure you'll never regret. Hoping March is great for you. I think about you all the time đŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous says:

    I've really enjoyed reading your blog and appreciate your honesty. I'm in the midst of trying to pay off debt and get healthy (my far off goal is to run a 1/2 marathon, thanks for showing it can be done).

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

