The over-achiever sydrome

Sometimes I get delusional and think I’m Queen of the World and that I can take on everything at once.

When looking at my schedule, I rarely account for downtime, sleep, or spontaneity. When I see open gaps I immediately look for ways to fill my time.

That’s how I’ve ended up with trying to pack in:

  • A full-time job
  • Babysitting 2-4 times a week
  • 1/2 marathon training (as a rookie)
  • Fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
  • 2 Book Clubs
  • Trying to make new friends in this huge city
  • Trying to eat healthier (i.e. planning/shopping for/cooking healthier meals)
  • A 3 credit online class
  • Maintaining a daily blog
  • A long distance relationship
  • Career planning/advancement
  • Long distance friendships and family
  • A spending diet
  • Exploring my favorite city while I still live here
  • A social life
  • Traveling for work or for fun (I can’t help it!)

It’s likely I’m certifiably insane. Take me away, officer. I need a few padded walls.

To make matters worse, when the 1/2 marathon happens in a month, I’ve been saying to myself, “oh! I’ll finally have time to volunteer with Girls on the Run and study for the Praxis test and babysit more to boost my savings AND relax some.” Again, delusional. Realistically I can replace training with only one activity since I still plan on being active after the race and will need time for that too.

It is really really hard to make time for everything and everything on the list makes me happy/proud/accomplished etc. And I’m not good at enjoying laziness. However, I can’t continue at this pace. A few times a week I find myself gasping for breath to keep up with this schedule of mine. I know that the more I pile on, the less I’m putting into each activity and the less I’m getting out of it.

For example, yesterday I worked and had to leave early to babysit until 10pm. I finally grabbed Subway on my way home for dinner, typed up a blog post, and had a quick Valentine’s Day skype date with Matt. That means tonight I’ll have to make time for everything else after another babysitting gig (run, grocery shop, finally unpack from the weekend, clean my room and do homework). It’s exhausting just to type all that!

I’ve been this way my whole adult life. I spent most of my college career in a daze.

Not even drunk.

I chose to graduate in 3 years with a major and two minors and work 2 part time jobs at 20 hours a week each and rock an internship and maintain all of my relationships.
 
How do I learn how to slow down, and find a pace that is still accomplished but more manageable? If I’m not able to do it all, I know I’ll struggle with feeling unproductive. Some things I have no choice to keep (babysitting, spending diet, homework). How do I determine what activities to cut, which are important to add, and how to get a little bit of everything? I guess we can now add prioritizing my life to my to-do list too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The over-achiever sydrome

  1. Wow you are so busy!! I don't how you get all that stuff done, thats great. I tend to do a little less, but I would suggest trying to combine some stuff maybe- for social stuff, maybe combine with a run with a catchup.

  2. Amanda says:

    I feel ya. I used to be that way too. In fact I guess I still am in ways despite that I don't have the steady job (or two) to juggle with everything else. Multitask where you can. Meet up with friends who like to work out and/or explore so you're doing things while making time for people (or find meetups for either thing if you want to meet new people). Depending how late you're babysitting, keep up with people on FB or write your blog posts after the kids are in bed. 2 book clubs might be a bit much so maybe cut the one you like less. You can always find out from someone what the list was to read at another time. Take your book to work and read during breaks and/or downtime if you have it. Daily blogging is a bit much even for me and I don't have a job at the moment so maybe shoot for at least 3-4 times a week so you have wiggle room. I jot things down daily as I do Insanity but I'm sometimes a few days behind in posting about it.

  3. Bryony says:

    I think I'm like you, I like to be busy but your schedule does sound pretty crazy! I'm the opposite at the moment really, I'm waiting to start a job and so I have quite a lot of spare time- I'm looking forward to being busy again!http://tounpathedwaterstoundreamedshores.blogspot.com/

  4. Katie says:

    I'm certainly learning to be a multitask queen! Thanks for the advice 🙂

  5. Katie says:

    Congrats on starting a new job! I went a bit nuts when I was "funemployed" so I know the feeling a little too well. I'd much rather be busy than bored!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

