Thank you, Captain Obvious

There are 42 days until I run the NYC 1/2 Marathon. Really? Uh oh. That seems like no time at all to increase my mileage! Especially since I have felt like a big tub of lazy on my last few runs.

It’s not always easy but I enjoy making time for running because it’s my chunk of time to think about everything I’ve piled on my schedule this spring or to zone out and think about nothing. I love being left alone with some of my favorite music and my thoughts.

But one factor of training I haven’t really considered is nutrition. With my spending diet and busy schedule, I usually eat what is easy, inexpensive, and will keep me full so I can make $20 last for a week of groceries. While I was struggling through running my 3.5 miles on Saturday, I finally realized that maybe I should think about how I fuel myself so I have more energy and I don’t feel like a sloth when I run. Countless meals of mac & cheese and leftover chicken fingers with ranch and french fries are probably less-than-stellar pre-workout foods. Seems obvious, right? I know, I’m shaking my head at myself.

So in addition to making time to actually run and take care of the basics, I will now be making time to find and prepare efficient (and still delicious and cheap) meals to help my body perform at it’s best. 13.1 miles is hard enough without expecting to run well on junk food.

Fewer carbs, more veggies.

My plan for today is apple and pb for breakfast and a salad for lunch. That’s as far as I got so I’m asking you

What are healthy, inexpensive, delicious meals that are easy and quick to make and can be transported to work without having to bring my whole kitchen?? 

I am grocery shopping tonight and need to make a list. I’ll take all the ideas you have and I’ll be doing some research of my own, thanks to Pinterest. This is all pretty new to me and I need your help!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The giveaway winner is…Lisa. Well, she’s the only one that entered! Really? No one else likes to scrapbook? Oh well, congrats Lisa! E-mail me at specialkap32 at gmail dot com and I’ll give you the details!

For those who forgot to enter or want to give MyMemories Suite as a gift, I do have a discount for you! At checkout, use this code STMMMS62679 for $10 discount off the purchase of the My Memories Suite Scrapbook software and a $10 coupon for the MyMemories.com store – $20 value!

This entry was posted in nutrition, training, veggies. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank you, Captain Obvious

  1. Amanda says:

    Haha it may seem obvious to you but there are tons of people who don't realize that what you eat is as important as what you do (in fact I've even seen personal trainers say that 30% is what they have you do and 70% is what you eat). I'm at the point where I think I won't even eat fast food as a last minute splurge anymore because the last three times I felt *terrible* especially when exercising. As to what you can eat that is cheap and healthy hmm…Have you tried hummus and pita bread? The red pepper one I like is 50 cal a serving (and the 2tbs serving size is enough for me) and a piece of pita is 150. We eat a lot of tunafish (cheap and healthy). You might also want to eat brown rice (We eat a lot of white but it's not as good for you). I found this list http://www.divinecaroline.com/22177/52070-twenty-healthiest-foods-1/2 of which we eat a lot of bananas, eggs, spinach, and tofu. Oh and if you fry your eggs like I do get one of those lowfat sprays that are 0 cal if you don't slather the pan with it–waay better for you than butter. Canned tomatoes are pretty cheap, versatile and healthy.You may want to consider whey protein shakes…the mix can run you around $40 for a tub but they're HUGE and last a long time especially if you're like me and cut the serving size in half (tiny girls like us don't need 3 scoops lol). Plus you can sneak in extra good for you stuff. I usually use peanut butter and bananas and sometimes blueberries. Hope that helps 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Oh I just registered that you're looking for meals not just foods (sorry, sleepy)…hmm it depends on what you have at your work. If you have a microwave, chili is a good option. My husband just gets those mccormick mix packets and we add rice, tofu, canned tomatoes, and onions. The pita and hummus would travel well as a snack (or you could try pita chips). If you like salad you could do a spinach salad with broccoli, mushroom, carrots, and whatever else you like and just carry (healthy)dressing in a separate cup so til you're ready so it doesn't get soggy. If you measure out whey protein and take a shaker cup you can add water and make a shake anywhere (they're better with a blender but shakers work for travel) or put it in a separate container and mix w/ water in a normal cup and just use a spoon. The one I use is enough calories to replace a light meal. If you like sloppy joes you might want to try this tofu alternative. My husband wasn't the biggest fan but I really liked it…tasted just like sloppy joe but without meat or the traditional sauce. None of the ingredients are very expensive and it would reheat well in a microwave. http://low-cholesterol.food.com/recipe/tofu-sloppy-joes-56643 That's all I can think of for now…I have been unemployed for awhile and my husband eats at the hospital so I haven't had to consider what would travel in awhile lol.

  3. Amy says:

    Oatmeal!!! Can't find a better breakfast AND its microwavable 🙂

  4. Jessie says:

    Yay I loved this post! I meant to enter the giveaway but got busy =/ I loved the song by One Republic, I listened to it. Thanks for sharing! I would love more music recommendations. I think you were my inspiration this morning when I started looking into a 10k I can do soon. That will be my first step and then I can think about a half marathon. Good quick meals are wraps, I get anything I would put on a sandwich and get whole wheat tortillas and take it all to work, leave it in the fridge and at lunchtime I get it all out and make a sandwich. That can last you a whole week of lunches. If you don't want to make them at work just make them at home the day before.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

