I have a plan!

After a lot of research, I managed to find an 8-week 1/2 marathon training plan for beginners in Fitness Magazine. Conveniently the race is 8 weeks away. It is still possible!

Based on my babysitting schedule, I’ve slightly rearranged the days of the week to make it work for me. Basically the week starts on Sundays with a rest day and running starts on a Monday etc. In my ideal world, I would also switch Tuesdays and Wednesdays and I think I probably will. Tuesdays I babysit until 7:30 and it would be easier to do an easy run afterward than to cross train in my small apartment with creaky floors. The world won’t end if it’s slightly out of order.

I will obviously continue with strength training and stretching, resting and icing etc. It’s ok with me if I have to walk part of the race but if it’s possible to still run strong, I’m going to try!

I started this plan last night and so far, it’s going well. I did Tuesday and Wednesday together to catch up a bit but took it easy. I did a 12 minute mile (no pain!! I was one happy kid on that treadmill!) and did a 30 minute ab class for cross training. Then resting, stretching and icing afterward!

I really like that the plan incorporates running and walking even though the end goal is running. There’s not much room to slack off but that will keep me motivated I guess! March 18th, I’m still comin for ya!

via
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I have a plan!

  1. Amanda says:

    You can do it! The run/walk combination is a good way to build up your distance and speed. Good luck 🙂

  2. Jessie says:

    That looks like a GREAT training plan!!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

