The calm before the storm

Man, Monday was tough. Still not 100% recovered from the flu, an irritated knee and the daunting task of a 1/2 marathon in less than 2 months made me one crabby peach.

I was going to have a big post on my plan of attack for the next few weeks of how I’m going to master these goals and be super woman but that will have to wait for another day. Maybe as early as tomorrow. But last night, I gave myself a break.

I let myself recoup, pout and worry a little bit lot, and rest up before “the storm” that will be coming. Between a training plan, fundraising, an online class, picking up extra babysitting shifts, trying to stay on budget and make ends meet and keep all of my important relationships in tact, my life is about to get pretty hectic.

Instead of going into it already stressed, I let myself calm down. I cozy’d up and listened to the rain. I forced myself to block out the people telling me I can’t or I shouldn’t. I blocked out the part of my brain that was angry for wasting another night not running. I researched how to handle my injuries and got a better grip on what lies ahead of me. I readjusted my goals and tried to make peace with whatever outcome I can give on March 18, as long as I give it my all. I got a handle on my finances to know exactly where I’m at and how I will proceed.

I played some Amos Lee and Bon Iver. I read some Pride and Prejudice. I cooked a healthy dinner. I took a long hot shower. I went to bed early.

And although I’m not 100% sure I can do it all, I feel better and I’m willing to give it another try. Today is a new day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The calm before the storm

  1. Amanda says:

    Hope you feel better soon πŸ™‚

  2. Chin up, you can do it πŸ™‚ I'm sending a virtual cupcake! haha

  3. Katie says:

    Thanks! It's amazing what 9 hours of sleep on a weekday can do!

  4. Katie says:

    Oh yum πŸ™‚ That would perk me right up!

  5. Amanda says:

    You're welcome. It sure is πŸ™‚

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

