Brick Walls

Whew. I am still recovering from the past few days and I’m hoping to be a normal, functioning human being once again soon.

By bedtime on Thursday I was knocking on Heaven’s door with potentially the worst flu I’ve ever had. I missed work, my fundraising event (thank goodness I have amazing friends to cover for me!), and I didn’t even worry about not running for 2 whole days.

With my week-long absence from running, it crossed my mind that I might have too many challenges in front of me and it might be time to reevaluate my goals. Maybe a half marathon later in the spring or maybe even the fall is more doable. BUT…

“The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out. The brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something. Because the brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough.”- Randy Pausch

Hey brick walls? You can suck it! I’m not giving up just yet.

Yes, I now have to add bi-weekly physical therapy appointments to my schedule. Yes, I have to learn how to run a mile again. Yes, I need to alter my training plan to help me catch up in time for March 18. I don’t know if it’s still possible but it certainly isn’t if I don’t try.

As much as I love to buy new shoes, it’s hard to fork over $70 on shoes because of my spending diet. But to keep my motivation strong and to prevent further injury, I caved.

That’s not my only brick wall these days.

Payday was Friday and I was going to be able to save $100. How motivating, right? Well, with this online class I’m taking (that starts today!), we need to buy a textbook. And of course that book costs $60. And of course the teacher didn’t tell his online students that they would need to have the book for Monday’s class until 2 days before (trust me, I checked!). So of course they have to pay for extra shipping and it will still be a few days late. So $72 later, I’m already behind in that class.

And, after paying for last week’s fundraiser materials, I’m out of my entire savings. Ouch.

But ya know what’s kinda cool? If I hadn’t done the spending diet so far, I wouldn’t have been able to buy these bigger purchases and ultimately I would have to give up or postpone two big goals of mine.

I’m starting this week a little worse for the ware. Regardless, I’m not giving up. I’ve picked up more babysitting shifts and I’m going to keep running. Slowly but surely, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brick Walls

  1. Amanda says:

    You've got a good attitude about everything. You can do it! And it's good you see that your spending diet has helped you even if needing to purchase things set you back. As to the half marathon, to be fair you made that goal before you had the injury. There is no shame in needing to re-adjust that goal to compensate if you need to. Keep your goal for now and if you're a week or so from it and not ready, adjust your goal and plan for the next one.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

