Fundraising & Firm Fridays

Attention all New Yorkers!! Come drink for a great cause tonight! I’m hosting a fundraiser tonight for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society that I’m running the 1/2 marathon for. I will be guest bartending at The Bullpen on the Upper East Side (1st between 87th & 88th). From 8-11 it’s $30 for unlimited well drinks and domestic drafts. Even if you want to just stop by for a drink on your way home from work or on your way out on the town, all tips will be donated to the cause as well. Please stop by, I would love to see/meet you all!!

 Here’s my connection to the cause if you’re interested!

Moving on.

It’s the freakin’ weekend baby! Time for another week of Firm Fridays (yup, I called it Fit Fridays originally but I had the name wrong).

Before my meltdown-inducing run last week, I remembered to weigh myself at the gym. Since I started running, I’ve lost 6 lbs! Between working out regularly and reducing my snacking thanks to my spending diet, I suppose I shouldn’t be that surprised but it’s a lovely reward 🙂 My pants almost always zip up and don’t feel like sausage casings anymore. Awesome!

Yoga last week was a challenge but I was able to hold crow pose for about 1 second. I’m going to chalk that up as a win.  

via

After finally dragging myself out of bed on Monday, I had a great 6-mile run through Central Park. I was planning on running 1 song, walking 1 song but when I started I just couldn’t stop running (I know, right?!). I ran for 4 songs until I started to feel tired. At that point I started alternating running and walking. Despite some IT band discomfort afterward, it felt great and I was really happy with my improvement.

Sadly that IT Band issue became worse and I had added pain in my knee.

I took it easy on Tuesday while I babysat but the pain did not improve by Wednesday, when I was planning on cross-training with a few sculpting classes at my gym. Instead I used my gym time to pop my foam rolling cherry and to stretch/stengthen my knee, with little success.

 

I came home and rotated between heat and ice and tried hard not to get discouraged.

Thursday I saw the Physical Therapist and it turns out I have ITB syndrome and Runner’s Knee. I’ll have a post on that next week after I’ve learned more about it. 

So basically I have done very little to get fit this week. Despite injury, I won’t give up and as long as I’m careful, I’ll be back at it next week. For me, not giving up is challenge enough for me right now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fundraising & Firm Fridays

  1. Kudos on the charity event. I don't know if I could even hold that yoga pose for one minute so I call it a win too. I've never heard of foam rolling…interesting. Glad they know what you have so hopefully that'll help you know where to go from there.

  2. Katie says:

    I would definitely research some foam rolling. You might find it helps your muscles after Insanity!

  3. Amanda says:

    I'll have to look into it. Interestingly enough the same day I read this post I found out P90X2 includes some foam rolling.

  4. Ah I would have loved to go to your charity event!! Next time I'm in the city for sure. I had a really bad ITB injury a few years ago… my advice is foam roll the hell of it, also rotate when you roll because the actual ITB twists round the leg (coming from the glutes to the knee), ice after runs, get some PT and massage… and take it easy.March 18th… are you running the NYC half?? If so, me too! 🙂

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

