Spa on a budget and other goodies

I ran after work on Friday evening. I had big plans. 4 miles was on the docket and I was going to run 1, walk 1/2, run 1, walk 1/2, run 1. My first time running 3 miles in a session. I went into it with an awesome attitude, much better than Thursday’s. I was going to kick its ass!

However, after mile 1 I got a side ache right below my left rib. I’ve shrugged these off before but this one kept getting worse. So bad in fact that it started to hurt to breathe. I ended my session and went home.

And.I.Had.A.Total.Meltdown.

I’m normally confident and proud of my “slow but sure” accomplishments with running but not last Friday. With 13.1 just over 2 months away I started to panic that I wouldn’t be ready in time if I wasn’t getting in better quality training runs. After a lazy Thursday and a terrible attempt on Friday, I thought my set backs would add up too quickly and there would be no way I would finish this race. I freaked out.

After trying to relax and to enjoy a quiet night in with more 30 Rock and a few home spa treatments (more on that in a minute) I was still a ball of tears. Thankfully Matt listened to me blubber on for an hour and managed to psych me up to get back out there on Saturday and try again. He gave me a new strategy and magically calmed me down, like only he can do.

Saturday I ran my first 1.5 miles straight with no breaks. I ran the entire reservoir without stopping. My goal was to slow way down and slowly pump out 3 miles but my cold-induced asthma took a beating from the 18 degree weather. It was a little victory nonetheless.

Now here are a few ideas on treating yourself to an at-home, nearly-free pamper session (if you’re in your right mind you will probably enjoy it much more than I did):

DIY Face Mask: similar to Bioré pore strips.
1 Tbsp of unflavored gelatin
1.5 Tbsp milk (any kind)

Heat for 15 seconds in the microwave (stove worked for me, damn tiny NYC apartment!) and apply immediately to any area on your recently-washed face.

Forehead, nose, chin. Sorry ladies, you can’t buy those dark, under-eye circles at the makeup counter. All natural baby!

Leave it sit for 15 minutes and slowly peel it all off. I wasn’t able to get all the tiny pieces but they easily washed off with a hot wash cloth. Your skin will/should feel amazingly smooth and clean afterward!

Paint Nails – simple and easy 🙂

Shave legs with lotion
-I don’t know about you but in the winter, and especially in a long distance relationship, my legs don’t get much lovin. As simple as it sounds, I took an extra long shower and shaved them with a fresh razor and applied warm lotion afterward (warm regular lotion by setting it in front your heater in the bathroom while you shower.)

Try a new hairstyle.
I kept seeing the sock curls pin on pinterest:

So I gave it a try.

The curls became a big poofball. Maybe my hair is not long enough. It was super easy to do the bun part so if it would have worked it would have been amazing but oh well. I’ll stick to my natural curls or a curling iron for now.

If you have the day off today, like I do (YAY!), why not treat yourself to a bit of free pampering?

As for myself, I’m going to curl up in bed with a cup of coffee and my copy of Pride & Prejudice (yup, reading 1 of 3 classics this year! New Years Resolution baby!) for a little more R&R.

The winner of the Chris Powell Choose to Lose giveaway is Amanda at Investing In Fitness! E-mail me at specialkap32 at gmail dot com with your address and I’ll get in the mail tomorrow!

I loved reading everyone’s answers about what makes them work hard! Thanks for all who participated!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spa on a budget and other goodies

  1. Amanda says:

    I will have to try that facial. Sounds easy. Glad the stove worked. We don't have a microwave here yet (I tend to cook better meals when I can't just stick stuff in the microwave anyhow lol). I have never tried the sock curls but if you want ringlet curls like the first picture get a set of plastic rollers and some hair gel designed for holding curls. Put the gel on a small strip of hair. Hold the curler almost vertical and wind the hair around it then clip. Do this all over and give it a couple hours to dry (you can speed it along with a hair dryer if needbe). I have done it several times and it almost always holds up. If you want to see what it comes out like my gravatar picture on wordpress from my wedding day when I did that.I definitely didn't expect to see me as the winner at the end of this. What a cool surprise. Thanks 🙂

  2. kate says:

    if you get a sideache, try making a conscious effort to exhale more. sometimes when you're sucking in air really fast when running, too much carbon dioxide builds up and leads to a sideache! for just a little bit, try taking shallower breaths in and then huge puffs out and see if it gets better 🙂 YOU CAN DO IT!

  3. Katie says:

    Thanks for the advice, Kate! I get side aches regularly so I will absolutely give that a try. You encouragement is much needed, thank you!!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

