It pays to know people and it pays to know me!

Megan’s company is publishing Chris Powell’s new book, Choose to Lose and Megan is in charge of the PR. So when she partnered with Google Places to set up a promotional workout with Chris last Friday, it didn’t take much for me to say yes to her invite.

It took place at 24-Hour Fitness in SoHo, which made me feel like my gym was a bit ghetto in comparison but I suppose you get what you pay for. Chris showed up with his wife, Heidi. Both of them were the two genuinely nicest people I’ve ever encountered. So nice, in fact, that I couldn’t even hate Heidi for looking AMAZING after recently popping out her third kid! 

Yup, that’s her! Photo via Melissa

Although it was obvious Chris typically tailors his workouts for the significantly obese, I was able to work on a valuable lesson: Find your “panic breathing” and stay there. Don’t quit when it gets tough.

I’m the queen of thinking I can’t do something if I’m breathing too hard. I blamed YEARS of poor workouts and lack of exercise on “asthma” when it turns out I just needed to keep working on it. 

Liz even attested to my excuse in her Tumblr earlier this week.

Yes, I’m beyond flattered Liz posted about me specifically! Even if it is that embarrassing quote.

 Chris’ workout was tough as teams of 5 rotated through these exercises:

  • 75 High Knees
  • Burpees with push ups and claps overhead
  • Sit ups
  • Squat with overhead press
  • Rest and cheer

I kept going despite being out of breath and it was one of the first times I pushed through discomfort. He was right, there’s something beautiful about being in that situation because that’s the point where you can choose to keep going and see how much you’re really capable of. 13.1 here I come!

It turns out a few fellow NYC bloggers were there, such as Melissa and Ashley. I wish I would have known to say hi! Imagine my surprise when I saw myself on their blogs the next day!

I promise it’s not the robot! I tried to be coordinated!

Afterward Chris signed my copy of his book and was nice enough to let me grab a picture.

Definitely glad I went, despite my now-sore muscles that continue to make me feel like a premature grandma.

His diet plan, the 7-day carb cycle solution, sounds very doable and I plan to follow it as best I can afford to. Sometimes the spending diet and a real diet don’t really mesh well but with all of the options he provides, it just might work. Basically you rotate high-carb and low-carb diet days so your body is never deprived of anything but you’re almost always choosing healthier options.

Lucky for you, I have a copy of his book to give away!

If you would like a copy, there are three ways to enter:
1. Be a follower and leave a comment saying you are.
2. Leave an additional comment telling me about a workout that really forced you to push through your “panic breathing” so you could improve.
3. Share the giveaway on Twitter or Facebook or your Blog/Tumblr and leave a comment to let me know you did. 

Winners will be chosen at random by that random number generator thingy. 

Contest ends this Friday at noon (EST) and the winner will be announced on Monday! Good luck!

This entry was posted in Chris Powell, Fitblog, Giveaway, Workout. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It pays to know people and it pays to know me!

  1. Kelly says:

    Cool!! This is all SO neat πŸ˜€ Thanks for the great giveaway. I'm a follower πŸ™‚

  2. Kelly says:

    And I've had a few different types of workouts that hurt SO much I feel like I'm going to puke– at a really advanced Zumba class I've literarily felt like I was going to faint, but I pushed through. And when we do sprints during spin class, if I don't focus and push through the pain I'm certain I'll fall off my bike, hah!! πŸ˜‰ Keep up the good work!

  3. Rosa says:

    Thanks for an awesome giveaway! Thanks for the giveaway! As you know, I'm a new follower. :)And I love workouts that combine muscle development with cardio, like walking lunges followed by jump squats repeated several times.And no matter how healthy I get, burpees are always tough!

  4. Great blog and idea Katie! Going to be following your adventure, as I am working on one of my own. I've been stuck in a stale mate after losing 35lbs a year ago. I gained a few over the holidays. My goal is to get down another 30 this year the "healthy" way to hopefully lower my blood sugar levels.My best workouts came from the Jillian Michael's book "Making the Cut." Slowly I started losing fat, and gaining muscle. I also try to follow a weight watchers diet, as I can't cut out junk…but need to work on portion control. I'm looking for a new workout and that book you are giving away seems like it might be just the thing to shake up my journey and keep me headed in the right direction! Glad you posted your blog on FB! Good luck! Keep moving girl!

  5. Leah says:

    I'm really interested in this book! Great giveaway! I'm a follower.

  6. Leah says:

    Spin class really pushes me to my limit and through my panic breathing. It was really hard (still is!)when I first started but I've become more efficient and I work out smarter and get more out of it.

  7. Amanda says:

    That's not an embarrassing quote. It's honest. I'm the same way. I know I can run but I'm just out of shape (and that's probably why I don't enjoy it). I may give it another go once I actually get into shape. I would say that Insanity is the workout that gets through the panic breathing. Even the warmup is an ass kicker and in the first couple days I had to pause a couple times to catch my breath, and my heart was pounding. While I still have to get water more often than the breaks are, I can at least push through without the crazy breathing. Just had to get my body used to the idea that it's going to exercise lol.

  8. Amanda says:

    PS. I saw this and thought you might like it: http://pinterest.com/pin/116038127868691774/

  9. clbruckner says:

    I am a follower! Great GiveawayChrissy

  10. HowdyFromNYC says:

    I took a cardio blast class this week and pushed myself harder than normal – to the point where I couldn't breathe. I guess a wedding will do that to ya, huh?

  11. Katie says:

    I love that picture Amanda! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  12. Kaulean says:

    I just found your blog today. I love how up front you are and how you put yourself out there. I am just starting my fitness journey so just looking at a treadmill makes me tired, but the thing that nearly kills me is Hula hooping on my Wii!

  13. Amanda says:

    I'm glad. You're welcome πŸ™‚

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

