Make it happen

I work in marketing. Somehow that makes me feel entitled to critique commercials and it happens pretty often. But every once in a while I see a commercial that moves me. It is powerful for both the brand and the user and makes me happy that some people in marketing and advertising really know their stuff. I saw such a commercial on Monday while watching Hulu and it might just be my favorite of all time.

 No matter what your goal is, you can do it. Make it happen. How inspiring is that?

That is the message I really need to hear as I’m about to tackle my biggest goal yet: get out of debt. I’ve taken running a bit more seriously than getting out of debt but it’s time for that to change, starting today.

I refuse to start 2013 in this same broke, shoe-string budgeted way. 

Some people start New Year’s Day but I’m starting fresh with payday tomorrow. I am making a declaration, inspired by And Then She Saved, to go on a spending diet. I am allowed $100 from each paycheck to cover anything I want/need to buy outside of my bills. These sorts of things range from food and shampoo to shoes and drinks. I have the power to decide accordingly what I will spend that $100 on each bi-weekly paycheck and when it’s gone it’s gone.

In case of emergencies, I will wait until the end of each pay period to pay off credit cards just in case I really actually do need a cushion at times. But seriously, that is for real emergencies only! I will learn to make do with what I have and I will get creative with ways to stretch $100 so I don’t feel deprived. I will try to keep busy with running and babysitting (both free activities) to curb my boredom/spending. And the best part is, I will be able to watch the numbers on my credit card bills shrink and the number in my savings account will finally start going up. 

This is hard to do, even if you don’t live in New York. I’m nervous. This won’t be easy and at times it will be really really hard. My biggest fear is that I will feel deprived and stressed and then binge shop and blow all my progress, much like a diet. But if I make payments every two weeks, the money won’t be there to binge on. 

Ultimately, I know the sacrifices are worth it in the end. And when I see a $0 balance on my credit card statements, it will be because I made it happen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Make it happen

  1. Jessie says:

    Great post, very inspirational!! =)

  2. You can totally do it. $100 a bi-weekly check is $200 a month. If you want something and don't have all the money (or if you do and it's a chunk that you aren't sure you should spend), make yourself wait and treat yourself the following month if you still want it. (And if you don't then you've averted a splurge and saved the money).

  3. Katie says:

    Thanks for the encouragement! The only difficulty is that includes groceries and necessities too so it's not always easy to save for a big splurge. So far it's going smoothly though!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Wow – $200 a month for groceries and other…impressive and good luck!I like some of the resources this site(http://www.gailvazoxlade.com/resources.html)Shan

  5. Katie says:

    Thanks Shan! I'm enjoying Gail's site as well now, thanks to you!

  6. Amanda says:

    You're welcome. Yeah that can be tough. Glad it's going well so far though. Sorry it's taken awhile to see this. Blogger doesn't tell me when there's a reply to a comment.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

