What I did right this year

2010 was an eventful year and I was hoping 2011 would calm down a little. Here’s a look back at the highlights of 2011.

  • On January 9th, I packed up my little car and drove from South Carolina to New York. I was fortunate enough to stay with my aunt, uncle and cousins for 6 months while I looked for a job and learned to land on my feet after unemployment. 
  • I started really enjoying vegetables, thanks to my aunt’s and uncle’s great cooking skills.
  • After many interviews and many boring days, I got a full-time job in March in New York City for a great company! 
  • Also in March, I got to fly home for a weekend to surprise my parents and celebrate Amanda’s birthday and engagement, thanks to Matt. 
  • April I saw my all time favorite artist, Amos Lee, in concert. One of my favorite NYC nights for sure. 
  • I flew to California to visit my good friend Laura and her baby daughter Morgan. It was so nice to reconnect and see the amazing mother she has become! 
  • Megan and I met Lenka in Philly for a pretty funny weekend trip.  
  • Matt visited for Memorial Day Weekend and we had a blast. It was his first time in New York and we went all out with a boat cruise and lots of touristy things. So fun! 
  • I found an apartment in the city to sublease for the summer and officially moved on June 1st. I also sold my car since it’s not necessary in the city.
  • I got my first waitressing job at Mason Jar. It was great money at first and experience I can fall back on if needed. Fortunately, I no longer work there.
  • I started working out and eating healthy. It lasted about a month and felt great.
  • My parents came for a visit in June. We had such a great weekend exploring the city and having some wonderful quality time together. 
  • I cut up my credit cards. 
  • I flew to South Carolina for 4th of July weekend and got a wonderful tan. I wish I could go back more often! 
  • In July I also flew home to visit my family since my sister would be home. She’s in the Air Force and her trips home are few and far between. We surprised my mom because she didn’t think I was coming. It was wonderful having time together and seeing old friends. (Thanks for the Birthday present Matt!)
  • I tried Match.com and went on my first blind date. It wasn’t a bad experience but we never talked again. 
  • In August, Megan and I found our apartment and we moved in Sept 1st. I was thrilled to be living with her again and to finally feel like I had a little sliver of NYC all to myself. 
  • I started babysitting regularly for a few families. A great source of income to pay my loans and typically pretty fun. 
  • Matt and I got back together officially in September 🙂 He surprised me with a spontaneous visit to make it official. 
  • I was assigned to go on a business trip to Minneapolis so I had a paid vacation home in October. It was action packed full of seeing everyone but it was a great time, as usual.
  • I stayed in New York for Thanksgiving weekend but I got to see both my extended families (aunt/uncle/cousins + Godmother’s family). I also got to see the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade in real life. A bit crowded but glad I can check it off my list. I’ll be watching in my pajamas next year! 
  • I signed up for Team In Training on a somewhat spontaneous whim. I’ve been training for my first 1/2 marathon and fundraising ever since.
  • Despite moving multiple times, being unemployed for 3 months, and living in one of the most expensive cities on a non-profit, entry level salary, I paid every single one of my bills on time and even managed to pay extra some months. I was also able to afford the security deposit, credit check, and first month’s rent when finding a place with Megan. Thank goodness we didn’t have a broker’s fee!
  • I flew home for Christmas and surprised Matt for his birthday. I had nearly 2 weeks home and it felt great! 
  • I read 23 books. My goal was 20 so I accomplished at least one resolution this year.  
  • I invested a lot of love into the relationships that matter most to me. 

Yes, this is the mostly shinny, happy, rose-colored version of the year but I’m ok with that. There was a lot of stress, a lot of lessons learned, and a lot of tears along the way but overall, I think 2011 gets a point for the winning column. What a nice relief after 2010!

If I had a song to sum up my year, it would be “Learned A Lot” by Amos Lee.

How was your year? What song would you pick?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I did right this year

  1. Cam says:

    Awww I like the rose-colored summary though 🙂

  2. Wow that sounds like a great year with many good things. I had a pretty good year as well the highlights of which were getting married, moving to Germany, having 5 stories and 6 poems accepted for publication, and hitting 50k words for National Novel Writing Month. I really haven't thought of what song would sum up the year. I may have to do that later. Best wishes for 2012!

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

