Surprise!

About two months ago, I was planning my trip home for Christmas. With Matt’s birthday being the 20th, I wanted to be there for his big day but it was hard to beg for that much vacation. I told Matt I couldn’t fly in until the 22nd, which was true at first. My boss was so gracious and approved my vacation and I just chose not to share these details with Matt. It was SO hard keeping this a secret!!

I flew in bright and early yesterday and had this delicious treat after my 3:30am wake up call. 

I quickly saw my parents and puppies, even squeezed in a training run(!) strengthened and then rested my knee while my mom on I strolled through Target.

Since I lost my iPod on a plane a few months ago, I scrounged my old bedroom for some CDs for the 4 hour drive to Matt’s. Here’s what I found:

My car ride was pretty awesome to say the least and was able to surprise him right as he was getting home from work!

We headed straight out for dinner at the Charcoal Grill

Matt would like you to know he does not photograph well.

We had a pizza & pasta buffet and a lot of these

Put Cheese Curds on a menu and I will almost always order them!

Then we celebrated Matt’s birthday/Christmas!

He got his birthday presents back in New York but he also got two dress shirts for Christmas and ESPN magazine.

Then it was my turn to unwrap presents and this is what fell out of the box.

After bursting into shocked happy tears thinking it was a ring, I quickly realized it was an iPod nano!! Haha awkward! Oops. At least we had a good laugh!

I also got a Nike attachment to track my runs. He spoiled me big time!! By the way, how cute are his tree and stockings?

We met up with a few new friends afterward for a birthday drink but kept it mellow since it was a work night after all.

It was a wonderful surprise evening and now I’m back to Minnesota to see my friends and family for Christmas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Surprise!

  1. Cam says:

    I love everything about this post πŸ™‚

  2. Jessie says:

    Oh my gosh, did he make those stockings for the two of you??? They are the cutest things I've ever seen.

  3. Laura says:

    Agreed with Cam! I can also relate to the ring/nano incident as I was gleefully happy to see a chipotle burrito picture for this post–only to realize it was a croissant. Can you tell from my obvious humor skill improvement I finally finished Bossypants yesterday? Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. What an awesome bday surprise! I would have thought that was a ring too!

  5. HowdyFromNYC says:

    Oh no!! I agree with Kaitlin, I would have thought it was a ring. iPod Nano is nice too, looks like you were in need of some updated music anyways. πŸ™‚

  6. Katie says:

    Haha Laura, glad you enjoyed the book! I'm glad I'm not the only one who would have mistaken it for a ring. I'm really excited about the nano though!

  7. Amanda says:

    Haha it's an understandable mistake. I bet the NaNo and tracker will help more with your runs than a ring πŸ˜‰ That is a cute tree. Reminds me of mine. Sure easier to put up and take down than a full sized one.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

