23°

Happy Monday! Can you believe that was our last weekend before Christmas? I absolutely cannot but that means I’ll be home soon and I can’t wait!

Friday I had the absolute pleasure of hanging out with these hooligans by babysitting Megan’s niece.

So adorable!!
I don’t think it gets much funnier than that!

Saturday was dedicated to a mental health day. Dec 17th is the anniversary of losing my uncle (dad’s twin) to suicide and on top of a busy, hectic week I really needed to unwind. Instead of getting up and running, I slept in, got a few Christmas presents finished, ran a few errands and played scrabble with Megan for nearly 3 hours. It came down to the wire but I ultimately won *dusts shoulders off*.

Later we met up with our friends Megan and Debbie for a lady date night. Dinner was delicious although expensive (the “special” does not mean a special price!) and then we saw New Years Eve.

Worst. Movie. Ever.

I loved Valentine’s Day and He’s Just Not That Into You so I thought this would be equally cute with the bonus of a NYC setting. Nope. It was AWFUL. Purely awful. The script was laughable because it was so cheesy, most jokes were missed because they were so bad, and all of the love pairings were simply ridiculous. I absolutely cannot believe how poorly done it was. All four of us burst into laughter a few times at how terrible it was. Get the point yet? Ok, good. That’s enough about that!

Sunday I dragged myself out of bed to get my long run in. It was 23°.

After the run.

It was so cold. For real. What was I possibly thinking training for a 1/2 marathon in the dead of winter?!?!? Seriously. The run turned into more of a walk because my pants kept sagging down, I hadn’t eaten breakfast, and my lungs hated the cold. All bad excuses, I know. I just wasn’t feelin’ it. There will be better days though I’m sure. Warmer running clothes will help, thanks in advance Santa!

At least I came home to my wonderful coffee maker.

I finished up my Christmas shopping (online shopping is much warmer!), wrapped my presents, made treats for the office and joined the girls for a Christmas party. I brought these

but we also used lettuce cups/wraps instead of the pasta to stay low-carb.

And to wrap up the weekend, the troops were removed from Iraq and our 9-year war has ended.

I don’t care what your political views are or how you feel about the war, it is great to not have that burden on our troops, their loved ones and our country. I’m proud of and thankful for those who fought but I’m glad they don’t have to anymore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 23°

  1. Jessie says:

    Keep up the great work!! I ran a 5-k last year on Thanksgiving and it was 7 degrees!!! I thought I was going to die, but I made it through. It's amazing how far our bodies can make it if we just give them the chance =) good job for getting out there though (that's more than half the battle). And I loved the using lettuce instead of the shells idea!!

  2. Katie says:

    Thanks Jess! I couldn't imagine 7 degrees! Thank goodness for treadmills while I'm home in Minnesota! I definitely recommend the chicken salad cups, they were a big hit!

  3. Lea says:

    [hello! I found your blog through lifeofblyss and have never commented before :)] …buttt I had to say really feel for you running outside in the freezing weather! I used to try and brave the weather all the time and it stinks. Props for getting out there before bfast haha

  4. Katie says:

    Hi Lea, thanks so much for the encouragement! 🙂

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

