Week (level) 3 of C25k

Last night I finally finally finally bumped up my running intervals to the next week of the Couch to 5K program. Since I have no intention of taking 9 weeks to be able to run a 5K, I consider each week a level that I can reach at my own pace.

I did equal run/walk intervals of 1:30 and then equal intervals of 3 min and rotated each session twice. Including the warm up walk, it was about 2 miles. The only difficult thing about running for 3 min. straight is purely mental. If I have nothing to distract my thoughts, I’ll convince myself I’m tired and want to quit. If I distract myself by reading the subtitles on the TV in front of me, I can easily do the interval. Who knows what I’ll do when I’m running for hours at a time!

Last night was also the Team in Training kick-off event!

I was amazed at how many first-time runners were there! It took everything I had not to cry while listening to some the survivors’ stories. A few of them even participated in Team In Training just weeks after radiation treatments.
“Training is easier than chemo.”
Puts things into perspective, doesn’t it?
Our first group run is this Saturday and I’m both excited and nervous. I have no idea how far we’re running and ya know, what if no one likes me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

