The training debate

 Matt (the boyfriend) was in town this weekend so I dragged him on a training run with me.

The reservoir loop in Central Park is 1.58 miles. We did a 5 minute walk to get there as a warm-up and then did intervals of run for 1:30, walk for 2 min, as per the C25K program.

I have never ran with Matt before and he let me keep the pace. He was surprised at how “fast” I was running, which nearly made me keel over from laughing so hard. He suggested I could do higher intervals of running if I ran more slowly but I feel like I’m already running slowly.

I can’t decide if it’s better to maintain my speed and build the distance slowly and then improve my speed after that OR build the distance at a slower pace and once I have it down, improve my speed.

Looks like I have some research and experimenting to do this week!

I’m also giving the stink eye to some phlegm rattling around in my chest. I’m not sure where it came from but it better not lead to any asthma issues! I’m doing everything precautionary to make sure this doesn’t hinder my training at all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The training debate

  1. Jessie says:

    Yay!!! =) You are making me wanna run run run!! =) So my belief has always been to go slow, set a goal of about a 10 minute mile pace (so 6.0 speed on the treadmill) and then once I could run three or four miles at a time is when I would start setting it up to 6.1 one day to see if I could run the whole thing on that, then 6.2 the next and so on. Also, it is good to sometimes raise the incline on the treadmill to 1.0 and run like a few minutes on that, to let your body get used to change in incline.

  2. KP says:

    I wish a 10 minute mile was slow for me! That's my goal to work up to but for now it will be a bit slower than that I think. I run at a 5.5 and I feel like it would feel like I'm shuffling if I go any slower but it might help me build distance. It's also difficult to measure pace when I run outside. I'm hoping Team In Training can help me work on that! Thanks for you advice 🙂

  3. That is a really pretty view. I have heard that improving your time on shorter distances is supposed to improve your time for longer distances.

Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

